Discussion Groups

Simulation CFD

Reply
Member
max.morse
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-28-2012
Accepted Solution

Running Multiple Scenarios Simultaneously on One Computer

264 Views, 4 Replies
02-12-2013 02:19 PM

Hi All,

 

This is a long shot, but I was wondering if there was a way to run simulations simultaneously on one computer. The computer I have is miles ahead of anything else avaiable on the network, and has 12 cores. I know CFD runs on 2^n cores, so 4 are wasted right now, so I was wondering if there was a way to split to processing power through just one computer, since it will still be better than remote solving to another computer.

 

If I use the remote solver (guidelines link below), can I go into the cfdserv application and specify the same computer, but one as 4 cores and one as 8 cores?

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Simulation-CFD/Setting-up-Remote-Solve-Fast-Track/td-p/321199...

 

I assume not, given the IP address is the same, but I figure I'd ask.

 

Thanks.

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Royce_adsk
Posts: 645
Registered: ‎08-24-2011

Re: Running Multiple Scenarios Simultaneously on One Computer

02-12-2013 04:03 PM in reply to: max.morse

Hi Max,

 

Just as you guessed you can only run 1 job at a time on 1 computer.  I suspect if you tried to do what you suggested it would still get queued.

 

-Royce



Royce Abel
Please use plain text.
Member
max.morse
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-28-2012

Re: Running Multiple Scenarios Simultaneously on One Computer

02-13-2013 05:28 AM in reply to: Royce_adsk

Ahh, shame, but thanks for the response. 

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
OmkarJ
Posts: 440
Registered: ‎10-02-2012

Re: Running Multiple Scenarios Simultaneously on One Computer

02-13-2013 06:59 AM in reply to: max.morse

Well I use two combinations of cores on the cluster : 8 cores and 16 cores. Now instead of running jobs on 16 cores serially, with one at a tine, I typically run two jobs running parallely with 8 cores each.

 

I have seen performance improvement of 25% while going from 4 to 8 cores, with anther 25% improvement from 8 to 16 cores. If you do the math, you will realise that two jobs with 8 cores runnign parallely finish in 75% time as that of two jobs running in series with 16 cores.

 

Now, I am being told that even with two licences, it is not always possible to run two jobs with 8 cores on the cluster simultaneously. In my case, I can so UI often do. As a disclaimer, there may be a risk of erraticv behaviour from cluster while communicating the solution to client. But the economisation is worth the risk.

 

Cheers

OJ

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
OmkarJ
Posts: 440
Registered: ‎10-02-2012

Re: Running Multiple Scenarios Simultaneously on One Computer

02-13-2013 07:02 AM in reply to: OmkarJ

Additionally, specific to your case, the two combnations can be 4 cores and 8 cores etc. Even 4 cores running parrallely might be quicker than 8 cores running in series!

Please use plain text.