Community
CFD Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s CFD Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular CFD topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reynolds number and drag force slightly high

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
jcwldy
4276 Views, 5 Replies

Reynolds number and drag force slightly high

I am just beginning to use the software and conducting some sample similations. I have a 3D model of a  3.94 in diamater sphere in a square column of water with a horizontal velocity of 39.37 in/sec.  I would like to chek the software output for the  Reynolds number and drag force.  Using water density of 9.33204e-5 lb-s^2/in^4 and Dynamic Viscosity of 1.45342e-7 lb-s/in^2, I calculate the Re to be 99,597.2 and drag force to be 0.3742 lbs.  The wall results and summary file show drag force to be 0.637 lbs and Re to be 159876.

Why are the simulated results slighty higher?   

Thanks

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
Jon.Wilde
in reply to: jcwldy

Hi jcwldy,

These analyses are typically highly mesh dependant, have you tried refining it and investigating the impact on the results?

Also what Advection scheme are you using? Try 5.

Message 3 of 6
jcwldy

Yes, I have ran many simulations with different mesh sizes. 

I am using the wall calculator to view the drag forces.  Is this the correct mathod to view the drag forces? 

The drag forces should be dependent on the density, fluid velocity, projected sphere area, and the drag coefficient.  Is there a way to output or view a drag coefficient?

I tried simulations using a ADV scheme of 5 and the forces are still about double of what I expect to see.

Thanks

Message 4 of 6
Royce_adsk

Hi jcwldy,

Could you share the support share file?