Community
CFD Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s CFD Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular CFD topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Possible Heat-Distribution in Inventor 2013

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
maxluedemann
1581 Views, 9 Replies

Possible Heat-Distribution in Inventor 2013

Hello

I am constructing a head of a flashlight and would like to know whether it is possible to use Inventor 2013 to simulate the head distribution in the aluminium Body for a punctual headsource (LED).

I am very new to this program and this forum, so iam not sure if i am in the right forum.

Thank you for your help!

Regards Max

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
M.Peppel
in reply to: maxluedemann

Hi Max,

you may want to follow this link i guess it will shed some light on your problem.

regards

Matthias

Nihil Ex Nihilo
Message 3 of 10
maxluedemann

ah thx.

I am trying to follow the guide (i will reinstall in english later -.-) but i do have a problem with the choice of the material, do i have to install an additional app tu use it?

I installed Sim CFD EnergyBalance, but stil have not been able to find the right materials 😞

Message 4 of 10
maxluedemann

Ok, I now found the LED-Finish in the Autocad Database, but this just seems to be some kind of "finish" not an actual "material" which I can use for the simulation?

Does anybody has an idea what might be the problem?

Regards

Max

Message 5 of 10
John_Holtz

Can you clarify what software is being discussed?

• Max mentioned Inventor, but I did not think that Inventor had the capability to simulate heat transfer (that is, heat distribution).
  • Matthias referenced a page from the Simulation CFD documentation, but Simulation CFD is separate software from Inventor.

It is close to my bedtime, so maybe I am just not reading, thinking, or understanding the discussion properly.

John Holtz, P.E.

Global Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.