Community
CFD Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s CFD Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular CFD topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Particle Inclusion

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
Anonymous
491 Views, 8 Replies

Particle Inclusion

Hi there, 

I am totally new to the world of simulation but online tutorials and a bit of fooling around have given me a good idea of how to simulate air flow through a nozzle. However, I was wondering whether it would be possible to include particles into the air flow, the reason being that I am trying to simulate a jet of air carrying abrasive grit and wanted to show the motion of the particles through different nozzle shapes. 

Thank You

Alain

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
OmkarJ
in reply to: Anonymous

Yes you can first obtain a converged solution of air flow in the nozzle. And then use massed particle lines to simulate the grit.

Message 3 of 9
Anonymous
in reply to: OmkarJ

Thank you I will look into that further!!
Message 4 of 9
apolo_vanderberg

Once you get comfortable with the Massed Particles, you can even use them to look at erosion aspects. There is a SimTV video that you can watch that outlines how to look at Erosion.
Message 5 of 9
Anonymous
in reply to: apolo_vanderberg

Great that's exactly what I need, would it be possible to see the erosion
on a surface just outside the nozzle? that is I do not wish to view the
erosion on the nozzle walls, but on the surface it is being projected upon.
Message 6 of 9
Anonymous

Hi, Apolo,

Could you please post the link to the simTV video?

Also, any tutorial on how to add massed particle?

Thanks!

Pei-Ying

Message 7 of 9
apolo_vanderberg

Here is the link for SimTV with all the quick videos we post there.

yes you wuld be able to model a nozzle and a plate to see how the nozzle projects the particles on to the plate.