Discussion Groups

Simulation CFD

Reply
Active Member
10 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-01-2013

No Slip Walls

419 Views, 5 Replies
02-14-2013 08:47 AM

Hi,

 

How would I add surface roughness to walls in a CFD analysis?  As far as I can tell, free slip is default.

 

Thank you!

*Expert Elite*
440 Posts
107 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-02-2012

Re: No Slip Walls

02-14-2013 11:55 AM in reply to: inventorlover

When you define materials for your domains, there is a option for it. Second last, if I remember correctly

 

OJ

Product Support
662 Posts
231 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-24-2011

Re: No Slip Walls

02-14-2013 12:08 PM in reply to: inventorlover

By default all walls are considered no-slip (0 Velocity at the wall).  You can add extra roughness from there as indicated above.  From my perspective most industrial applications do not need this setting adjusted.

 

-Royce



Royce Abel
Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-18-2012

Re: No Slip Walls

03-18-2013 11:08 AM in reply to: inventorlover

anyone can help?? pleasee

now, i;m confuse too, where to set a roughness wall, because i can't define the wall in boundary condition

 

thankss

*Expert Elite*
440 Posts
107 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-02-2012

Re: No Slip Walls

03-19-2013 01:55 AM in reply to: IanGalang

As indicated in the post above, when you define material for your domain, there is an option to specify wall roughness. You can't define wall in boundary condition because any unspecified surface is no-slip wall with zero roughness by default

 

You can always find information, if you look in help documentation:

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Simulation_CFD/enu/2013/Help/0138-The_Proc138/0230-Setup_Ta230/0236-Mat...

 

OJ

Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-18-2012

Re: No Slip Walls

03-23-2013 10:34 AM in reply to: OmkarJ

thanks omkar, i found it