Community
CFD Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s CFD Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular CFD topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Natural ventilation

26 REPLIES 26
Message 1 of 27
anasabukhadra
2071 Views, 26 Replies

Natural ventilation

Hello,

I am an architecture student, and I am working on a passive cooling, naturally ventilated design. I am still a beginner with Simulation CFD. I was trying to see what my options are with my project. I basically want to simulate how the air enters the room from the outside, how it moves inside and how the temperature changes. I know it sounds pretty simple. Are there any videos or tutorials to help with that? Question 2, does Simulation CFD use weather files or do I always have to specify the weather conditions and so.

Tags (1)
26 REPLIES 26
Message 2 of 27
Jon.Wilde
in reply to: anasabukhadra

Hi,

You are going to need to set this up using CFD Boundary Conditions - what is usually contained within weather files?

Best bet is to model the building on the ground and also add an air-volume around it - then you can apply flow and temperaure conditions to the inlet and a P=0 at the outlet of the air volume (to let the air escape again).

This would be a good starting point I think.

Kind regards,

Jon

Message 3 of 27
anasabukhadra
in reply to: Jon.Wilde

Thank you for your prompt response. I'll start with this today and I will see where I get and I will ask again if I get stuck with something.

Weather files are basically used for energy simulation software such as eQuest. Let's say that for example I want to simulate a building in San Diego, CA. all I have to do is to import the weather file which contains all the climatic data for San Diego through out the year and the software would use it to smulate different  designs, So you wouldn't need to specify any climatic conditions and the software would give you results for the different months/days/hours.