Discussion Groups

Simulation CFD

Reply
Contributor
RobTipples
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎07-19-2013

Mesh adaption instability

145 Views, 6 Replies
12-19-2013 12:33 AM

Has anyone else found that models crash on opening after solving when mesh adaption is used?

 

It's happened to me a handfull of times now on different ocasions now.

Please use plain text.
Product Support
wildej
Posts: 973
Registered: ‎08-25-2011

Re: Mesh adaption instability

12-19-2013 08:39 AM in reply to: RobTipples

Hi Rob

 

I have seen issues with large file sizes preventing models from opening. Might it be that you are saving out each cycle and it is creating a large folder? What is it's overall size?

 

Kind regards,

Jon



Jon Wilde
Please use plain text.
Contributor
RobTipples
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎07-19-2013

Re: Mesh adaption instability

12-20-2013 12:09 AM in reply to: wildej

Ta Jon, you could be on to something there: when it re-meshes, it creates a new, more fine mesh. It's possible that the mesh is just too big to load.

Please use plain text.
Product Support
wildej
Posts: 973
Registered: ‎08-25-2011

Re: Mesh adaption instability

12-20-2013 12:51 AM in reply to: RobTipples

Hi Rob,

 

What is the final mesh count? (See Sum or St file)

Also, are you saving out each mesh cycle?

 

Kind regards,

Jon



Jon Wilde
Please use plain text.
Contributor
RobTipples
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎07-19-2013

Re: Mesh adaption instability

12-20-2013 01:18 AM in reply to: wildej

I'm not sure about the final mesh count as I've now deleted the file. The pre-refinement mesh estimation was 7milion elements though.

 

Could this be the problem?

Please use plain text.
Product Support
wildej
Posts: 973
Registered: ‎08-25-2011

Re: Mesh adaption instability

12-20-2013 01:20 AM in reply to: RobTipples

Hi Rob, it could be, yes. That is all I can really say though I am afraid.

 



Jon Wilde
Please use plain text.
Contributor
RobTipples
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎07-19-2013

Re: Mesh adaption instability

12-20-2013 01:22 AM in reply to: wildej

Cheers Jon, I was posting on here to see if anyone else had a similar problem.

Please use plain text.