Discussion Groups

Simulation CFD

Reply
Active Member
jvbrad
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-21-2011
Accepted Solution

Licensing question for cluster

576 Views, 6 Replies
10-14-2011 01:55 AM

Hello all,

 

  CFdesign had the "HPC module", which was required for >4 cores (single system or cluster). The HPC module requirement seems to have been removed from Simulation CFD 2012. Can anyone tell me what the licensing requirements are now for a cluster? Do you just need a single solver license for the head node, regardless of the number of cores/nodes the cluster has in total?

 

Many thanks,

James.

 

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Royce_adsk
Posts: 626
Registered: ‎08-24-2011

Re: Licensing question for cluster

10-14-2011 08:23 AM in reply to: jvbrad

Hi James,

 

You are correct. The license requirements for the HPC module are now included with the solver licenses and a seperate license is no longer needed.  CFD 2012 will support 2^n cores on the machine that you are using out of the box.

 

-Royce



Royce Abel
Please use plain text.
Active Member
jvbrad
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-21-2011

Re: Licensing question for cluster

10-14-2011 10:16 AM in reply to: Royce_adsk

Thanks Royce. Sorry I'm being a bit dumb - when you say it supports 2 to the n cores "on the machine you are using" could you clarify what you mean (is n the number of solver licences?) For example, let's assume I have a 4 node cluster, each node has 4 cores - so 16 cores in total. Will a single solver license on the head node suffice, or are you saying we need 4 licences on the head node (2^4) to cover 16 cores?

 

Thanks,

James.

Please use plain text.
Active Member
jvbrad
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-21-2011

Re: Licensing question for cluster

10-18-2011 08:20 AM in reply to: Royce_adsk

Hi Royce - any chance of an update on this please? What is "n" when you say that CFD 2012 will support 2^n cores?

 

Thanks,

James.

 

Please use plain text.
Employee
derrek.cooper
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎04-06-2011

Re: Licensing question for cluster

10-18-2011 08:32 AM in reply to: jvbrad

Hi James.. we will leverage chip sets that are 2^n # of cores (4, 8, 16).. So chips with 6 cores, we will use 4 cores..

Please use plain text.
Active Member
jvbrad
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-21-2011

Re: Licensing question for cluster

10-18-2011 08:37 AM in reply to: derrek.cooper

OK I see, many thanks for explaining that Derrek.

 

Do you have any info on whether a cluster requires more than one license, or will a single solver license (installed on the head node) cover all available cores (ie: including those on the compute nodes too)?

 

James.

 

 

Please use plain text.
Active Member
jvbrad
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-21-2011

Re: Licensing question for cluster

10-20-2011 04:18 AM in reply to: jvbrad

Just replying to my own question ... no extra licenses are required for a cluster vs a single workstation. Good news!

 

 

 

Please use plain text.