Discussion Groups

Simulation CFD

Reply
New Member
wilkbiker
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-19-2013
Accepted Solution

Inlet and oulet pressure (no velocity), gives 2 outlets in Summary File

376 Views, 2 Replies
05-01-2013 09:34 AM

Hi,

I am modelling a simple flow through a valve. I have set BC on the inlet as 45 MPa and 0 MPa for the outlet, because I am looking for the flow rate in the specific pressure. But after solving I have 2 outlets and 0 inlets - what might possibly be wrong ?

Thank you very much for help, I need it for my thesis ! :smileyhappy:

 

Please use plain text.
Product Support
apolo.vanderberg
Posts: 301
Registered: ‎08-31-2011

Re: Inlet and oulet pressure (no velocity), gives 2 outlets in Summary File

05-01-2013 12:04 PM in reply to: wilkbiker

There is nothing wrong there:

We group boundary conditions into categories "Outlet" "Inlet" and "Unkown"

 

Pressures are outlets even though flow could go in or out depending on the rest of the setup.

 

Flowrates are inlets even through you could reverse the direction and have it pull flow out.

 

Just how we organize the data for the Output bar

Please use plain text.
New Member
wilkbiker
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-19-2013

Re: Inlet and oulet pressure (no velocity), gives 2 outlets in Summary File

05-02-2013 01:09 AM in reply to: wilkbiker

great, thank you!

 

And when I set BC as a "Total Pressure" I have 0 inlets, 0 outlets and 0 unknown. Why is it like that ? Total pressure consist of dynamic pressure as well, so It should also have 1 inlet and 1 outlet right ?

Please use plain text.