Discussion Groups

Simulation CFD

Reply
Active Member
jiao.wang
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-15-2013

HPC for Autodesk Simulation CFD

229 Views, 2 Replies
09-15-2013 02:42 AM

We are running a project to setup a HPC server for Autodesk Simulation CFD. Per my understanding, Autodesk Simulation CFD only support 32 cores for computings. So I am wondering if HPC cluster is not required since one dedicated server with 4CPU (8Core/CPU) can meet this requirement.

I am not sure what is the performance difference between 32core/node (4CPU/node, 8Core/CPU) and 32core/4node (2CPU/node, 4Core/CPU) for Autodesk Simulation CFD. I am wondering if anybody has experience or performance benchmark on this. Your input is appreciated. Thank you.

Please use plain text.
Product Support
wildej
Posts: 962
Registered: ‎08-25-2011

Re: HPC for Autodesk Simulation CFD

09-15-2013 03:25 AM in reply to: jiao.wang

In our experience, you would be better off with a single node with 32 cores. Simpler to set up and you won't need to worry about the more complex setup of HPC runs - you could simply run from your desktop to the server, easy.

 

Best regards,

Jon



Jon Wilde
Please use plain text.
Active Member
jiao.wang
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-15-2013

Re: HPC for Autodesk Simulation CFD

09-21-2013 10:42 PM in reply to: jiao.wang

Thanks for update. This is helpful. I am wondering if anybody has experiene about the performance difference between 32core/node (4CPU/node, 8Core/CPU) and 32core/4node (2CPU/node, 4Core/CPU) for Autodesk Simulation CFD. This may be helpful for me to convince mgmt team which is best option of HPC solution for Autodesk Simulation CFD. Thanks.

Please use plain text.