Discussion Groups

Simulation CFD

Reply
*Expert Elite*
620 Posts
147 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
Accepted Solution

Flow Rate

220 Views, 5 Replies
04-07-2013 01:32 AM

Hello

i am checking the flow on a system. The BC are Pressure only. At inlet P=1bar and outlet is gage.

Can i recieve the flow rate from the analysys?

 

Thanks

Dan

*Expert Elite*
441 Posts
107 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-02-2012

Re: Flow Rate

04-07-2013 10:21 AM in reply to: Dan.M

Yes you should be able to.

If it is a simple flow (pipe or parallel plates etc) you can get the flow rate analytically using Poiseuille equation as well. 

 

OJ

Product Support
1,062 Posts
149 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-25-2011

Re: Flow Rate

04-08-2013 01:06 AM in reply to: OmkarJ

Agreed.

Be sure to run Advection Acheme 5 also, important if we have no flow rate to drive the fluid. (Solve -> Solution Controls -> Advection)



Jon Wilde
Product Support
662 Posts
232 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-24-2011

Re: Flow Rate

04-08-2013 11:27 AM in reply to: Dan.M

There are many ways to determine the various states at the openings of a model. Using the plane bulk-calculator or the summary file are the typical workflows.  I would suggest that you start with looking at the summary file.



Royce Abel
*Expert Elite*
620 Posts
147 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-19-2009

Re: Flow Rate

04-08-2013 11:54 PM in reply to: Royce_adsk

Great,

Thanks. Although the units there are something that you would need to change.

When I say "you" I mean AD.

flow.PNG

Dan

Product Support
662 Posts
232 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-24-2011

Re: Flow Rate

04-09-2013 06:59 AM in reply to: Dan.M

When you use the summary file a lot it really helps to think about your system units before you run your model to get the default result units as close as possible to what you want and/or away from units that you hate.

 

Cheers!

Royce



Royce Abel