Community
CFD Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s CFD Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular CFD topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Exhaust Pressure in a Gas Turbine Exhaust Duct

11 REPLIES 11
SOLVED
Message 1 of 12
Anonymous
1712 Views, 11 Replies

Exhaust Pressure in a Gas Turbine Exhaust Duct

Hello,

I am trying to determine the outlet pressure on a gas turbine using a particular ducting design. I have used the following approach:

1) Set pressure at outlet surface to 0 psig (atmosphere).

2) Set inlet mass flow rate (155 lbm/s) and temperature (1051 degrees F) according to the engine (GE LM2500) specifications.

3) Run simulation.

4) Use the Wall Calculator to determine the DP from inlet to outlet; this is my outlet pressure.

All runs smoothly, but the results seem unrealistically small (0-1 psid). I am an engineer by education, but not so smart on fluids. At this point I am using air as a medium for simplicity, but may change that once I feel like the results make sense. Given the relatively low velocities, I am assuming incompressible flow.

I have the feeling that I may be doing something wrong. The CFZ file is attached; any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,

Kerry

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
Jon.Wilde
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi,

It is better to use the bulk calculator near the inlet and outlet, the wall calc is really for heat transfer.

You need an extension on the inlet though, the length should be 5x the diameter. Otherwise it would be pretty tricky to capture the pressure here.

Then look at mesh refinement, as a basic setup we should have 4-5 elements across a gap, here there is only  2 at the outlet, which is not quite enough. More mesh will yield a more accurate result, this is almost always true until we reach a point of mesh independence where the mesh is so fine, more makes no difference.