Community
CFD Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s CFD Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular CFD topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Closed Loop Cooling system

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
aperri
1045 Views, 3 Replies

Closed Loop Cooling system

Hi all, (first post)

This is my first time working with CFD and I have done a few of the tutorials available on the Autodesk site. Up to this point I have been testing and slowing advancing the model of a Stator/sleeve combo for a cooling heat exchanger for a project.

I have not had many problems with the individual part, but now I am trying to make a closed loop system and I had a few questions (plus getting the simulation to run would be great 🙂  ).

The system consists of a pump, two stator/sleeve combos ( in series) followed by a radiator all linked by some tubing. We would like to see if the fluid is able to be sufficiently cooled after extended use of the motors.

I had the following questions:

The stators/sleeves are fairly detailed for the simulation as they are the focus of the entire simulation. I have the pump and radiator set to be EXTREMELY basic geometries (essentially cubes). I did this as I have the manufacturers data sheets concerning the pumps and radiators concerning properties such as Pressure, Flow Rate, and thermal resistance. 

Should I improve the models of these devices despite the fact they are I only need them for their properties ( should I stop treating them like black boxes)?

As I said, I have some data from the manufacturer concerning the various properties of the parts, but when when working with the editor I am having difficulties finding how to utilize these values.

Is there a way to provide non-static functions for properties such as flow rate vs. pressure change and thermal resistance vs. flowrate?

(the only non-static models I see involve time dependent functions, whereas these are property dependent.)