Community
CFD Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s CFD Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular CFD topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CFD-Model nothing flows

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
CFAsmo
570 Views, 6 Replies

CFD-Model nothing flows

Hello guys, 

I'm searching for some helpsters, i am a newbie in this software. To my problem: the volumetric model i have created is a part of a hydraulic valve. As boundary conditions i've set a pressure-difference between inlet and outlet. The simulation shows the pressure growth but unfortunately when i try to measure the flow on a plane it shows that there is nearly no flow at all- something like 6E-7 but the pressure seems to be correct. 

I have tried to change my flow media from hydraulic oil to water, checked the boundary conditions and so on, but at the moment i am helpless. You can see the project file in my attachments. Sorry for my bad english, i'm a german student.

Greetings and thanks for your help

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
Jon.Wilde
in reply to: CFAsmo

Try changing the Advection Scheme to 5 (Solve ->Soution Controls -> Advection). We should always do this where we have pressure driven flow.

We cannot view the file you attached, we would require a cfz (support file).

Regards,

Jon

Message 3 of 7
CFAsmo
in reply to: Jon.Wilde

Hello, thank you for a quick reply!

I already tried to use ADV5 it doesn't help unfortunately. The support file is to big sth. about 4 mb, so i can't create an attachment, i'l try to upload it in a different way.

Message 4 of 7
CFAsmo

i've just uploaded the geometry file, thanks again for support

Message 5 of 7
Jon.Wilde

My suggestions:

1. Extend the inlets and outlets by 5x diameter - having small steps near Boundary Conditions is never a good thing. Ideally we want flow over a BC to only travel in one direction, not swirl
  2. Run for more than 100 iterations - ideally until CFD converges by itself