Discussion Groups

Simulation CFD

Reply
Contributor
office
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎11-17-2011
Accepted Solution

CFD 2013 With Windows8

1267 Views, 30 Replies
08-21-2012 02:08 AM

We have this big problem when instaling CFD 2013 in windows 8. Not just that in want install itself it screw all other Autodesk programs (Inventor,3ds MAx) and they want start and you can not export licence.It won't uninstall or reinstall.

I give you screnshoot and log file.By the way the CFD 2012 worked OK

Please use plain text.
Product Support
wildej
Posts: 854
Registered: ‎08-25-2011

Re: Big problem with CFD 2013 installation in windows 8 preview

08-31-2012 08:31 AM in reply to: office

Hi,

 

We do not presently support Windows 8 so would not expect this to work.

Our QA team are aware of this.

 

Kind regards,

Jon



Jon Wilde
Please use plain text.
New Member
tmallory
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-29-2012

Re: Big problem with CFD 2013 installation in windows 8 preview

10-29-2012 11:11 AM in reply to: wildej

Since Windows 8 has now officially launched I think it is a good time to revisit the question from this older post. 

 

Is there a timeline or estimate available for when Windows 8 might be supported for Simulation CFD?  We run Simulation CFD along with Invetor and Autocad, so we pretty much can't upgrade to a new operating system until Autodesk moves to it.

Please use plain text.
Product Support
apolo.vanderberg
Posts: 301
Registered: ‎08-31-2011

Re: Big problem with CFD 2013 installation in windows 8 preview

10-29-2012 01:30 PM in reply to: tmallory

As Jon mentioned previously, this is something that our QA / development is aware of, however, I do not have a specific date taht I can give out at this point.

 

One item taht I'm just noticing in your previously attached log is that you were intalling this from a mapped network drive (N:smileyhappy:

Just as a thought did you try installing with the installation media locally (on the C:smileyhappy:?

From a permissions stance, we may not always inherit the same permissions for reading/accessing remote directories that the user credentials has as some processes spawn under the "System" account.

 

Apolo

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Royce_adsk
Posts: 631
Registered: ‎08-24-2011

Re: Big problem with CFD 2013 installation in windows 8 preview

11-05-2012 07:16 AM in reply to: apolo.vanderberg

Just as a side note. You will probably have more success with installing 2013 SP1, but Win8 is mostly untested and unsupported at this time.  If you discover some workarounds that you can share that would be excellent for the community. If no workaround are necessary that would be great to know as well!

 

-Royce 



Royce Abel
Please use plain text.
Contributor
office
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎11-17-2011

Re: Big problem with CFD 2013 installation in windows 8 preview

11-06-2012 01:43 PM in reply to: Royce_adsk
Hello Royce, the problem is not in the software its self but in licensing system. As you now differently from CFD 2012, 2013 had only network licence which obviously have some problem when used on windows 8. The problem is so huge that once when one tries to install it its remove licences from all other Autodesk software on that OS and you need to reinstall OS again as well because you cannot activate any Autodesk product even you try to reinstall it. I think that you really need to make licensing system the same as for other Autodesk software which required serial and activation code, we tried again and now we need to reinstall it again, as well as other software, ask for activation codes again completely unnecessary. If someone really want to crack software it will do it anyway, like this you simple leave bitter taste within your licensed software community. Just because of it software which I would normally grade with 8 or 9 from 1-10 scale I would grade with 4 or 5. Let us know when you solve problem with licensing on windows 8 until then CFD 2013 on windows 8 is non-usable. Best, Nenad Paunovic co-owner and CTO Poduhvat Ltd. Address: Cacanska bb., D. Vrezina City: Nish; post code: 18000 Country: Serbia Tel: +381 18 572 322 Mobile: +381 64 325 45 62 www.poduhvat.com
Please use plain text.
Contributor
office
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎11-17-2011

Re: CFD 2013 With Windows8

11-07-2012 07:56 AM in reply to: office

In addition to my previous answer we were so angry about stupid licensing system that we try again on windows 8 professional and we had struggle this time not only to install 2013 version but 2012 as well. We did it with 2012 but honestly I do not have a clue what exactly we had done. It is about our 20  time installation so we know what we did before but that didn't work out. If just following instruction from web it won't work. We are now struggle with 2013 will let you know if succeed. WHY NOT JUST GET RID OF THAT STUPID FLEXERA SOFTWARE it really destroying great simulations software. If you don't run installation in compatibility mode installation process completely block entire OS so one need to restart PC manually and then it is impossible to uninstall half installed software so  pain stacking process of deleting every single Autodesk file including in register need to be done on order to reinstall software again. You also must shut down any internet connection with different physical address than the one on which is licence register (like WIFI or blue tooth) if not incredible "clever" Flexera will collect that physical addresses like server physical addresses as well and licence file become useless. It have no words how this activation process which suppose to take couple of second and be very simple level down impressions - it is really very frustrating and completely unnecessary.

Please use plain text.
Mentor
M.Peppel
Posts: 174
Registered: ‎05-05-2007

Re: CFD 2013 With Windows8

11-07-2012 11:12 AM in reply to: office

Hi Office,

I hope you dont mind me asking two questions....

 

  1. Why to heck would sombody, who presumably has to make his living from working with a software like CFD 2013, install it on a OS that is not officialy supported?
  2. And for what reason do you think should sombody from Autodesk offer any advice?

 

Regards

 

Matthias

Nihil Ex Nihilo
Please use plain text.
Product Support
apolo.vanderberg
Posts: 301
Registered: ‎08-31-2011

Re: CFD 2013 With Windows8

11-08-2012 06:03 AM in reply to: M.Peppel

Guys,

   Thank you for your posts.

 

 

Nenad,

   As we mentioned in the previous posts Windows 8 is not supported. Many of the aspects that you are mentioning are items that our QA and Devekopment would be going through to understand why they happen and how to improve the installer to support the new Win8 structure.

 

It seems that you've figured quite a bit about running in compatibility mode and getting bits moving forward. But at this time many of us in Support still run with Win7 so it makes it difficult for us to try the same stumbling to give advise on how to proceed.

 

Considering you did get 2012 working, if you do have any tips or tricks that you remember, I'd appreciate it if you can post them here so that others can learn from this as well incase they happen to go through a similar path of updating to an unsupported operating system.

 

Thanks

Apolo

Please use plain text.
Contributor
office
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎11-17-2011

Re: CFD 2013 With Windows8

11-08-2012 06:20 AM in reply to: office

Hi Matthias,

 

because, the heck, presumably CFD 2013 as product of one of the best 3D software companies out there and because of it, it should be in time synchronization with latest OS happenings regardless is that Windows, Linux or some other OS.

And considering your second question - maybe because that is their job? and maybe because is that in their direct interest to make their product as better as possible in shortest time possible?

If some other software form same and completely different branches can work on W8 without any problems isn't normal to expect the same from one of the best software companies on the world?

And again I suspect that is nothing to do with Autodesk part of the job unless Flexera isn't part of the Autodesk?

The problems with authorisation appear in windows 7 as well, just for the record. By my opinion that is junk software and significantly affect customers decision about purchasing Autodesk CFD software and I am not the only one who thinks like that.

Isn't the customers opinion which count the most? I am present and, if Flexera goes out, future customer as well.

 

Regards,

 

Nenad

Please use plain text.