Community
CFD Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s CFD Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular CFD topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot get thermal distribution

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
Anonymous
310 Views, 1 Reply

Cannot get thermal distribution

I am kind of new to Autodesk tools. I want to simulate thermal distribution over a smartphone and we built very simple model for that.

I used Autodesk Inventor Pro to each component as a part (.ipt) and assemble them as a mold design file (.iam). Then I launched Simulation CFD and created a study pointing to the .iam file.

I am managed to assign materials for every components and specify the heat generation to IC chips.

Then I adopted automatic mesh size and clicked "solve". It solves within 1 minutes (it seems to be too fast... the simulation setup are shown in the right side of the figure) to give results. However, I am not able to see any thermal distribution on my device. Even the IC chips I assigned heat generation stay at 25C (the small blocks in figure are IC chips).

Since the smartphone is a closed case, I didn't specify any inlet and outlet air. Could this be the problem? I set the volume inside the device to be air.

Could anyone help? Thanks a lot.

1 REPLY 1
Message 2 of 2
Jon.Wilde
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi,

Do you have any reference to an ambient temperature anywhere? This is likely the issue. 

There are 2 approaches here.

1) Run with air around your device and let CFD calculate the air flow and heat transfer to it - you would need Boundary Conditions (BC's) on the top surface of the air, assuming yout phone is on a bench of somesort. I would use P=0 and T=ambient.

2) Use film coefficients - faster but less accurate - on the external surfaces of the material. Something like 5W/m2/K at ambient temp would be a good start