Discussion Groups

Simulation CFD

Reply
*Expert Elite*
OmkarJ
Posts: 440
Registered: ‎10-02-2012

Can't apply fully developed flow

306 Views, 8 Replies
12-05-2012 01:09 AM

Ok, this is painfully hilarious.  I have a perfectly circular inlet but when I try to apply a fully developed flow condition (volume flow), it doesn't let me apply. When I untick the fully developed setting , only then I can apply the boundary condition. Going back to CAD (Inventor 2012), I can measure the diameter of that inlet boundary, meaning that CAD confirms its circularity, which is the requirement of fully developed flow!

 

Any thoughts?

 

OJ

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
OmkarJ
Posts: 440
Registered: ‎10-02-2012

Re: Can't apply fully developed flow

12-07-2012 12:54 AM in reply to: OmkarJ

Someone, please?

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
marco.mueller
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎05-16-2012

Re: Can't apply fully developed flow

12-11-2012 06:56 AM in reply to: OmkarJ

Maybe the edge is split? Or not perfectly flat?

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
OmkarJ
Posts: 440
Registered: ‎10-02-2012

Re: Can't apply fully developed flow

12-11-2012 06:59 AM in reply to: marco.mueller

Thanks, at least someone heard! But how to know if the edge is split? The CAD software confirms the circularity as I can measure the diameter. And Geometry Tools in SimCFD doesn't highlight any concern.

 

Regards

OJ

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
marco.mueller
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎05-16-2012

Re: Can't apply fully developed flow

12-11-2012 07:01 AM in reply to: OmkarJ

go to edge selection method and pick the edge. Then you'll see if it is just one or more...

Please use plain text.
New Member
daniel.s.christmann
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-03-2012

Re: Can't apply fully developed flow

12-19-2012 05:56 AM in reply to: OmkarJ

Hallo,

 

I have the same Problem OmkarJ described. I can't apply fully developed flow as boundary conditon. 

I'm using a Student Version of Simulation CFX 2013. 

Is this probably the reason why I'm not able to use this function?

 

Daniel

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
OmkarJ
Posts: 440
Registered: ‎10-02-2012

Re: Can't apply fully developed flow

01-07-2013 01:49 AM in reply to: OmkarJ

Well it's just one edge! I had not been able to apply this boundary condition since ages!

 

Regards

OJ

Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
ilyas
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎06-13-2012

Re: Can't apply fully developed flow

01-07-2013 07:31 PM in reply to: OmkarJ

Hi,

 

I suggest you try to export your CAD file to another format, open it in Simulation CFD and apply the fully developed BC.

 

 

I tried directly opening my CAD file in Simulation CFD using the Invertor Add-in and faced the same issue when applying the fully developed velocity BC (cannot press Apply on the quickedit dialogue box). For me, the problem only happens for circular cross sections, I experimented with a square cross section and it works fine(as far as applying the BC). For circular cross sections, I exported my CAD as parasolid text and was successful in applying the fully developed velocity BC. I think there might be a problem with the Inventor translations for circular profiles. The problem did not exist for the 2014 Beta version though. 

 

Regards

Ilyas

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
OmkarJ
Posts: 440
Registered: ‎10-02-2012

Re: Can't apply fully developed flow

01-08-2013 12:59 AM in reply to: ilyas

I have lodged the case with subscription center. I will update this thread with any remedy suggested.

 

OJ

Please use plain text.