Discussion Groups

Simulation CFD

Contributor
cpatil365
Accepted Solution

Bringing the drawaings of Inventor to CFD and simulate

538 Views, 14 Replies
06-04-2013 02:59 AM

I am a beginner.Completely my work simulations has been stopped due to below issue.

I have  created my devices using the Autodesk Inventor. They stored in the "*.iam".

as assembly files. I wanted to do the heat flow simulation on my assembly.

I want to open these files Autodesk CFD. so that I can apply the heat contrainits.

But this CFD allowing only the "*.cfz, or *.cfdst" files to open. Pls help me, how to open my drawings in Autodesk -CFD.

No training is helpingme  here.  Pls help. Urgent. I waited for 1 month almost now. Pls. 

any reply is apprecieated!!

Please use plain text.
Product Support
apolo.vanderberg

Re: Bringing the drawaings of Inventor to CFD and simulate

06-04-2013 06:02 AM in reply to: cpatil365

I would recommend that you go through our example models (this is in the help) or the free Self-aced Fundamentals on our Wiki help.

The process for bringing geometry from Inventor to CFD is outlined in there as you would Launch (icon in Inventor) the geometry from Inventor to push to CFD.

Alternatively - if you are in 2014 you can File-New (as you are starting a new design study) and point to inventor geometry

Please use plain text.
Contributor
cpatil365

06-05-2013 03:38 AM in reply to: apolo.vanderberg
Thanks a lot. But the new issue is. I am saving in the "parasolinide" file. when saved in that, and trying to open in CFD, it gives error that opening failed. pls inspect the device. Device has all regid parts. no moving also. when I inspect it shows me that , 2 parts found. how to make all single rigid part. I am unable to do. any more help ?
Please use plain text.
Product Support
apolo.vanderberg

06-05-2013 04:33 AM in reply to: cpatil365

Why are you saving as a parsolid?