Discussion Groups

Simulation CFD

Reply
Member
ptitleman
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-02-2011

Boundary conditions will not go between volumes

92 Views, 2 Replies
01-28-2014 08:08 AM

I have a tank with water being pumped in through an inlet hole, and coming out of a perforated plate.  When i do either a void fill to create the volume of water between the inlet/outlet, or if I create it in the model, CFD is separating the water into 2 volumes.  If you look in th epicture below, the water is being pumped in to the small volume at the inlet, but the paparmeters are not transfering to the larger volume within the tank.  

 

Is it possible to merge the 2 volumes into 1.  If not, is there something I need to do to get the water to flow from one volume to the next?

I am new with the CFD software, so it is difficult to troubleshoot when something does not go as planned.

 

Thanks in advance.

 

Phil

 

Tank.JPG

Please use plain text.
Product Support
wildej
Posts: 778
Registered: ‎08-25-2011

Re: Boundary conditions will not go between volumes

01-28-2014 02:28 PM in reply to: ptitleman

Hi ptitleman,

 

I would start by suggesting you add a cylinder to the inlet, in CAD, that will also be the fluid - this way we have a nicely developed flow entering the domain. Whenever you bring a hollow but sealed model from CAD into CFD, we will automatically fill the void for you with an addional part, this is often the simplest process.

 

Secondly, this might be down to meshing, are you able to share a support file? This would be a .CFZ file and you can save one out from the interface by going to the S and then Save Share File.

 

Kind regards,

Jon



Jon Wilde
Please use plain text.
Member
ptitleman
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-02-2011

Re: Boundary conditions will not go between volumes

01-29-2014 06:31 AM in reply to: wildej

Thank you for the response.  Here is the .CFZ file I am working with.

Please use plain text.