Community
CFD Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s CFD Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular CFD topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2D-Airfoil

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
usman_s
6685 Views, 10 Replies

2D-Airfoil

Hello everyone,

I am completly new to CFD and currently working on a project where I have to do a simulation of an 2D-Airfoil. 

The following data is given:

Fluid: water
Fluid velocity: 4.5 m/s
Stationary and incompressible flow
Static Pressure: 3 bar

So for structered mesh, you have to consider the diffrent types of farfields, which effect the quality of mesh, but since Simulation CFD only supports unstructered mesh, I have chosen a simple rectangle as my farfield, with two more fields for denser mesh. 

Since I am a novice in this field, I would like to ask you some Questions.

1) My first question is about the boundary conditions: I have set the right edge (inlet) to "velocity" (fluidspeed 4.5 m/s) and the outlet to "pressure" (3 bar gage). The other two edges are set to slip/symmetry. Are these BCs chosen correctly?

2) I am amazed but at the same time sceptical about the mesh generation. It seems really easy to generate a unstructured mesh but at the same time I can't estimate its quality. Seeing the results, my generated mesh seems to do a good job. Could one of you take a look at my mesh and results? So far, I have mostly seen hexa-meshs for 2D-simulations, but can a tetra-mesh be that accurat too?

3) How can I make a cp-plot (pressure coefficient along both surfaces (pressure and suction side)). I have an excel-file with points of interest for measuring. Is there a possibilty to import these points? How do I get infos on pressure loss and energy dissipation?

4) My last question for now: Autodesk Simulation CFD chooses the Standard k-ε turbulence model by default. I don't know where I can change this but is this model suitable for my task?