Community
3ds Max Shading, Lighting and Rendering
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max materials topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

nvidia mental ray really slow

12 REPLIES 12
Message 1 of 13
qholmes
1435 Views, 12 Replies

nvidia mental ray really slow

I just got a new workstation with Max 2013 installed on it. I did a test render that i have from Boxx industries and it rendered out at about 6.2 times slower as the posted time from Boxx.. 

I noticed that the renderer listed was NVIDIA mental ray.. first time i had seen that. I have been using Max 2009 and 2012 for quite a few years. 

So then i did a few googles and found a few posts where people were finding render times 5 or so times slower than they should be with Mental Ray?

Does anyone have any comments on this?

Thanks

Q

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
qholmes
in reply to: qholmes

Ok, i noticed that it only had update 4 installed so i downloaded update 6. Installed that and no change.

I tried rendering some other scenes.. Some of the ones that come with it like Troll Cleric 29 etc.. And have had a few crashes. It wont render that one actually.. I can render it on my old workstation in Max 2012 just fine.

Q

Message 3 of 13
qholmes

So I tested another machine. Same specs and it performs the same. Crashes on some standard shipped with scenes. 

Is there a Benchmark scene that i could render to check speeds?

i wonder if maybe the Distribution package that this company uses is not good? Or not good for a higher end machine like i have?

They also set the computers up with preset software installs.. i wonder about that as well.. 

I am trying to find out if my company.. (huge) has some sort of service contract with Autodesk.

Q

Message 4 of 13
Anonymous