Area :: Header
New tools, templates and workflows
Announcing Extension 2 for 3ds Max 2015 and 3ds Max Design 2015
Discussion Groups

Shading, Lighting and Rendering

Reply
New Member
kelantana23
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-16-2013

Batch render // Error: line 1: Socket error creating command port.

4015 Views, 4 Replies
10-12-2013 12:15 AM

I am using Maya 2014 (Latest version) Mac. When I do the batch rendering, it comes up a message:

 

// Error: line 1: Socket error creating command port usernames-imac.gateway.2wire.net:7835 (49).

 

Then when I disconnect the internet, the render worked. But I need the internet to work when I do the batch render. 

 

I did:

1. Make sure the firewall allows the maya and batch render.

2.  sudo dscacheutil -flushcache

3. There's no other Maya session loaded.

 

I really need help, I have deadline in two days.

 

Thank you.

 

 

Please use plain text.
New Member
StantCo
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-10-2013

Re: Batch render // Error: line 1: Socket error creating command port

10-27-2013 05:26 PM in reply to: kelantana23

Did you ever find a solution?

Please use plain text.
New Member
kelantana23
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-16-2013

Re: Batch render // Error: line 1: Socket error creating command port

10-29-2013 03:02 AM in reply to: StantCo

I haven't. I thought I was the only one who has this problem. I just unplug the internet when I do it. It works that way.

Please use plain text.
New Member
orin
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-19-2014

Re: Batch render // Error: line 1: Socket error creating command port

03-19-2014 06:10 PM in reply to: kelantana23

I fixed this by editing my /etc/hosts file and adding the hostname of the machine to the 127.0.0.1 entry.

 

Terminal Commands: (Linux / Mac)

 

hostname

this will print out something like mymachinename OR mymachinename.local

Whatever it spits out, copy it

sudo nano /etc/hosts

(it will ask for root password, LINUX: you should know your root password - LINUX/CORPORATE: ask your friendliest admin if you dont know your root password, they wont give it to you but they will come fix it for you, MAC: your sudo password is just your password but you have to be an Admin MAC/CORPORATE: See linux corporate if you dont have admin access)

look for the line that starts with 127.0.0.1

add to the end of that line the output from the hostname command

To write and close the file hit Ctrl + o then Ctrl + x

That should be it.

 

Please use plain text.
New Member
mjwander
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-18-2014

Re: Batch render issue

04-18-2014 05:19 PM in reply to: kelantana23

I have a newer Mac computer from 2012. I'm currently using maya 2014. I currently have a short animated sequence and everytime I hit Batch Render down in the lower right hand column the following message appears. // Error: line 1: Socket error creating command port unknown 20c9d0c4dcbb.gateway.2wire.net:7835 (49) what does that mean and what do I have to do in order to make my sequence render? Please remember I'm on a MAC. Thank you.

Please use plain text.