Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Member
balaceanu_catalin_23
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-28-2012

Trying to create a tensegrity model in robot !

427 Views, 4 Replies
09-02-2012 11:39 PM

My tensegrity model in RSA has come up with a small problem when i try to calculate it : "instability (of type 3) detected at node in direction RZ". I don't seem to figure it out and thought someone could have a look at it and give me some insight on it, maybe help me fix it.

 

untitled.JPG

 

I think i haven't defined the cables right or something like that. If someone has the time to have a look at it, please leave me your email and i will send it to you. Thank you ! 

 

PS: the panel should whitstand a load of 12 kn

 

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,055
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Trying to create a tensegrity model in robot !

09-02-2012 11:59 PM in reply to: balaceanu_catalin_23

Attach the model please.



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Member
balaceanu_catalin_23
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-28-2012

Re: Trying to create a tensegrity model in robot !

09-03-2012 12:53 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Thank you for taking the time to have a look. I could not manage to attach an RTD file, so i sent it by archive RAR.

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,055
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Trying to create a tensegrity model in robot !

09-03-2012 01:01 AM in reply to: balaceanu_catalin_23

Taka a look at cable definition: Cablu 4.07m -> Elongation, Relative = -1 !!!!!

For example set relative =0 or correct value.



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Member
balaceanu_catalin_23
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-28-2012

Re: Trying to create a tensegrity model in robot !

09-03-2012 01:12 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Thank you very much ! It now works. Haven't worked with cables before and i must have understood wrong when i read about them and put -1 there !

 

                          Thank you again !!!

Please use plain text.