Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Valued Mentor
tony.ridley
Posts: 653
Registered: ‎09-07-2011
Accepted Solution

Steel Design Reporting - API

546 Views, 9 Replies
02-21-2012 10:34 PM

Hi guys,

 

When steel design is performed, the critical case (and also associated design ratio) are reported.  So, if you have 10 combinations, Robot will give the design ratio for only one case.  

 

Is there a way to make Robot report the ratio for all selected cases?  Or, how can I know if there is more than one combination making the member fail?

 

Cheers,

Tony.

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 5,111
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: Steel Design Reporting

02-21-2012 11:50 PM in reply to: tony.ridley

That's what you usually need - Ok or too weak and then you increase the size and check if it is ok for all combinations :smileyhappy:

 

The only solution is to run separate verification for each of the load case/ combination.

 

If you find your post answered press the Accept as Solution button please. This will help other users to find solutions much faster. Thank you.

 

 



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,587
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Steel Design Reporting

02-22-2012 12:09 AM in reply to: tony.ridley

Tony, 

 

I know You as a big API \ VBA developer ;-)

 

Check this post :

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Robot-Structural/ROBOT-API-RATIO/m-p/3278473/highlight/true#M...

 

Modify code to make a loop for all cases one by one.

This line is crucial:

..

RdmStream.WriteText ("1") 'Set Load Case(s)

..

 

 



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Valued Mentor
tony.ridley
Posts: 653
Registered: ‎09-07-2011

Re: Steel Design Reporting

02-22-2012 03:14 PM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Genius.

My VBA is good enough to set up a loop.  Works a charm.

 

By the way, did the package arrive? :smileysurprised:

 

Tony

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,587
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Steel Design Reporting

02-23-2012 12:06 AM in reply to: tony.ridley
Tony,

Genius.

My VBA is good enough to set up a loop.  Works a charm.

 

I knew you would like it :-)

 

By the way, did the package arrive? :smileysurprised:

 

Not yet. Have you really sent it? WOW!

 



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,587
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Steel Design Reporting

02-23-2012 07:52 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

I am attaching macro reporting member verification ratio for each bar, each case \ combination given in Excel file



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Valued Mentor
tony.ridley
Posts: 653
Registered: ‎09-07-2011

Re: Steel Design Reporting

02-23-2012 03:31 PM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Rafal,

 

thanks again for that, I'll post mine up here when I finalise it, its a slightly different format but basically same.

 

by the way, one of my colleagues (also Robot user) has made the comment; why is this type of functionality not supported in Robot to start with? ie, why does the user need to implement VBA / API to perform this reporting, it should just be accessable from within Robot.  For example, to modify multiple panels, an understanding of VBA is required.  Is this just a thing in Robot to seperate the hardcore user from the regular guy? :smileytongue:

 

Yes I sent something but it seems it hasn't turned up :smileymad:, I'll hassle alma

 

tony

 

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,587
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Steel Design Reporting

02-24-2012 12:30 AM in reply to: tony.ridley
Tony

 

 

by the way, one of my colleagues (also Robot user) has made the comment; why is this type of functionality not supported in Robot to start with? ie, why does the user need to implement VBA / API to perform this reporting, it should just be accessable from within Robot. 

 

Because we think users are interested in the worst case results than case by case results.

On the other hand can you imagine operational time and finally file size with such kind \ number of results if you have 30000 bars in model and 20000 combinations?



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Valued Mentor
tony.ridley
Posts: 653
Registered: ‎09-07-2011

Re: Steel Design Reporting

02-24-2012 05:44 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

hmmm OK I take your point.  but if you want to know what makes a bar fail, it's good to know which applied action is causing the problem.  Then you can refine the analysis quicker.  

 

If I had 100 bars, I would run the AS4100 check.  Then, say 10 fail, I would run the 10 for ALL case combinations to find out where my problem is coming from.  So no, I dont need ridiculous numbers of checks to be performed.  

 

Your spreadsheet is cool though.  And it gives the Robot "geek" and edge over the regular user.  :smileyhappy:

 

tony

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,587
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Steel Design Reporting

02-24-2012 05:49 AM in reply to: tony.ridley
Tony

 

If I had 100 bars, I would run the AS4100 check.  Then, say 10 fail, I would run the 10 for ALL case combinations to find out where my problem is coming from.  So no, I dont need ridiculous numbers of checks to be performed.  

 

So the worst case is reported, no need to look for other cases.

But if there is such wish from your side - use macro :-)

 



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.