Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
bjur
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎09-14-2011

Slab Design - How to determine final bar spacing as calculated in Robot

1420 Views, 7 Replies
08-28-2012 05:12 PM

I've generated a pretty 3d rebar model in Robot for a simple slab on grade, but I'm now at the point where I want to actually document the rebar design on paper.  I can't find anywhere Robot tells me what the spacing of the bars was.  Is there a way to export a DXF or DWG of the Rebar plan view for the slab so I can produce some drawings.  How does one get from slab rebar results in Robot to having enough information to generate actual construction documents.  It would be awesome if I could just export the Rebar 3d model into Revit.  I'm guessing that there's no way of doing this right now though.  Until I can do that, how does everyone else get rebar results (bar size and spacing) from Robot to document the plans.  I have tried to use the drawings feature in Robot, but quickly grew frusturated as the drawings looked horrible.

 

Is there a work flow that I'm missing for going from Revit to Robot and back to Revit for concrete slab design.  It appears that the link only coordinates beams and columns.

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,891
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: Slab Design - How to determine final bar spacing as calculated in Robot

08-29-2012 12:06 AM in reply to: bjur

There are three options:

 

1. Generate slab reinforcement drawings in Robot

2. Use ASD Reinforcement (open Robot reinforcement drawings) for enhanced quality of reinforcement drawings

3. Export information about required slab reinforcement to ASD Reinforcement and make reinforcement distribution and drawings using ASD tools instead

 

If you find your post answered press the Accept as Solution button please. This will help other users to find solutions much faster. Thank you.

 



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
bjur
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎09-14-2011

Re: Slab Design - How to determine final bar spacing as calculated in Robot

08-29-2012 03:25 AM in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski

Is ASD reinforcing the same as autodesk structural detailing?  I think I have it but since I use revit for all of my detailing I never installed it. Can I import reinforcing from ASD into Revit?

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,891
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: Slab Design - How to determine final bar spacing as calculated in Robot

08-29-2012 03:36 AM in reply to: bjur

Is ASD reinforcing the same as autodesk structural detailing?

 

Correct.

 

 Can I import reinforcing from ASD into Revit?

 

No, the other way round. You can create reinforcement drawings in ASD for beams, columns and spread footings with reinforcement generated in Revit with use of Revit Extensions (REX).


 See also:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Robot-Structural/Slab-reinforcement/m-p/3554568/

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Robot-Structural/upload-slab-reinforcement-to-model-in-revit/...



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
bjur
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎09-14-2011

Re: Slab Design - How to determine final bar spacing as calculated in Robot

09-25-2012 12:14 PM in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski

Finally got around to exporting some slab designs to Autodesk Structural Detailing and apparently it's not supported.  All I need is to get the rebar size and spacing from Robot into either Revit or Autocad format (which I will then import into Revit).  What's the easiest way to do this for rebar shown in panels?

Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
A.wikipedia
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎08-03-2012

Re: Slab Design - How to determine final bar spacing as calculated in Robot

09-25-2012 05:25 PM in reply to: bjur

Hi.

Please see picture.

2012-09-26_0724.png

Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
bjur
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎09-14-2011

Re: Slab Design - How to determine final bar spacing as calculated in Robot

09-26-2012 05:09 PM in reply to: A.wikipedia

Thanks for this.  So close yet so far away.  So now I have the same drawing in autocad as the one produced in the Robot drawings.  Has anyone tried to make sense of those drawings?  Is there any way for me to show the actual rebar in autocad?  Sorry to be a pain, I'm just frusturated at my inability to extract meaningfull information out of this amazing program.  It would be great if I could get an exported cad drawing of the 3d rebar view, but in plan view for each layer of bars.  Maybe theres a setting in ASD that will show the rebar in 3d.  Anyone know of how to do that?

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,226
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Slab Design - How to determine final bar spacing as calculated in Robot

09-27-2012 06:25 AM in reply to: bjur

  Maybe theres a setting in ASD that will show the rebar in 3d. 

 

FOr beam columns spread footings this way:

 

3dcol.jpg



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.