Robot Structural Analysis Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Robot Structural Analysis Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Robot Structural Analysis topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shell problem - opening in a cylinder

20 REPLIES 20
SOLVED
Message 1 of 21
ziegler123
4953 Views, 20 Replies

Shell problem - opening in a cylinder

Hello.

I'm fairly new to ROBOT SA and I would like to model a structure that's really similar to the attached image, only that I would like to model it as a shell and not as a solid! But the only problem that i've encountered so far is creating the opening in the shell model. I've tried to do an object combination but i honestly can't get it working with shells!

I've tried to do with solids but the model gets a llittle heavy, so therefore i would like to avoid that.

Any ideas? 

Thank you!

@ziegler123 Artur Kosakowski edited the topic for better findability 

20 REPLIES 20
Message 2 of 21
ziegler123
in reply to: ziegler123

so.. any ideas?

Message 3 of 21
Rafal.Gaweda

It can be done but unfortunatelly it is not painless.

I will try to show you how to do it tomorrow.

Rafal Gaweda
Message 4 of 21
ziegler123
in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Thank you so much! I will be expecting your response tomorrow then.

Message 5 of 21
Rafal.Gaweda

Example with 2 cylinders

2cyl.jpg

Rafal Gaweda
Message 6 of 21
ziegler123

Yes, that's it! I did try to do a boolean operation but never expected that you had to turn off the Solid Modeler! Thank you so much!

Message 7 of 21
susi33

I tried as you shown in this instruction, but this didn't work. After object combinations my cylinder looks like deformed and when i press button to create mesh, hole dissappears. I have no idea what is wrong.

Message 8 of 21
susi33

And this is image like it looks like after meshing

Message 9 of 21
Artur.Kosakowski
in reply to: susi33