Robot Structural Analysis Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Robot Structural Analysis Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Robot Structural Analysis topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shear load through panel and beam girder

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
eshimek
418 Views, 5 Replies

Shear load through panel and beam girder

Let me start by saying I am new to Robot. I am attempting to reinforce an existing truss, which has been found to fail under new loads. Part of what I would like to do is use steel panels to connect the chords, verticals, and diagonals on the ends of the truss- essentially making the ends a plate girder with the diagonals acting as ribs.

I have drawn up the truss, as it currently exists. I created A36 Steel panels that are defined as the individual spaces between verticals and chords. When I analyze this result, I end up with a huge shear stress acting on the lower chord of my truss. In other words, it doesn's appear to be properly distributing the shear load through the panels and both the top and bottom chord, as it should for a plate girder.

Is there a way to have the shear loads tie all the way through the top to the bottom chord through the panel? I am also see this same issue with the last diagonal that I am tying my panels to.

Tags (1)
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
Artur.Kosakowski
in reply to: eshimek

Please attach a model and screen captures/ sketches that show what you get and what you would like to get.

Artur Kosakowski
Message 3 of 6
eshimek
in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski

Artur,