Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Active Member
afellows
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-07-2011

Seismic Info

248 Views, 4 Replies
12-20-2011 07:22 PM

When I enter values for seismic design such as: S1, Ss, R, and I, Robot calculates values for Fv, Fa, Sd, Sds that are slightly lower than the values I calculated by hand even though we are both using the same building code calculation methods from ASCE.  Why is this so?

 

Thank you,

     

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,849
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: Seismic Info

12-21-2011 12:38 AM in reply to: afellows

I think we should be proud that we are expected to provide the answer on the detailed question about the reason for the difference in values not knowing not only these values but the parameters for which they were calculated but I'm afraid this is not going to be possible :smileyhappy:

 

To investigate this issue we need both your hand calcs and the corresponding Robot file with the model.

 



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Active Member
afellows
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-07-2011

Re: Seismic Info

12-21-2011 10:58 AM in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski

Attached are the differences in calculations...

Please use plain text.
Active Member
afellows
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-07-2011

Re: Seismic Info

12-21-2011 12:55 PM in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski

I am not sure how to send the robot file, so hopefully this shows the parameters you are looking for.

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,849
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: Seismic Info

12-21-2011 11:54 PM in reply to: afellows

Just attach it in the same way as you did with the pdf file. If the size is what you are concerned about then select rtd without results as the type of the file in the Save as dialog and give it a new name. Then compress it.



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.