Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
160 Posts
29 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-14-2011
Accepted Solution

Running calculations on single load case or single combination

386 Views, 5 Replies
05-29-2012 04:08 PM

I have around 35 different load types defined in my model.   I have another 150 load combinations.  I would like to run selected load cases or combinations to check the model with out having to wait hours for it to run the whole list.  I though about saving it to a seperate file and deleting everything I don't want, but there has to be another way.  Is there a way I can run a single load case or combination?  If this is not a feature or there's no reasonable work around, I'd like to add it to the wish list.

Mentor
194 Posts
3 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-06-2011

Re: Running calculations on single load case or single combination

05-29-2012 06:46 PM in reply to: bjur

I beleive you can assign an auxiliary case parameter to the cases you do not wish to run.

Distinguished Contributor
160 Posts
29 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-14-2011

Re: Running calculations on single load case or single combination

05-29-2012 07:01 PM in reply to: stroxy

This is handy for running large amounts of load combinations when I don't really want to see the individual load case results...that said, it doesn't help me out here.  What I was really looking for was a way to just run one or two load cases or one or two load combo's from my whole list of cases and combos.  I just want to make sure my non-linear model will run and give accurate results before I let it run all night.

Product Support
5,221 Posts
758 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: Running calculations on single load case or single combination

05-30-2012 12:03 AM in reply to: bjur

I think what Stroxy suggested is the way to go. You can apply the auxiliary flag to a selection of simple load cases and combinations you do not want to run and only these that are not marked in this way will be calculated. All other combinations will be skipped and simple load cases will be used as loads definition only.



Artur Kosakowski
Distinguished Contributor
160 Posts
29 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-14-2011

Re: Running calculations on single load case or single combination

05-30-2012 10:38 PM in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski

Certain types of analysis can't be skipped though.  For example Modal analysis can't be skipped or set to auxillary.  This will work though.  Thanks.

Product Support
5,713 Posts
1,303 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Running calculations on single load case or single combination

05-30-2012 11:52 PM in reply to: bjur

Try this:

 

restart.jpg



Rafal Gaweda