Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Contributor
bartosz_borowiak
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-26-2014
Accepted Solution

Revit -> Robot model corection problem

241 Views, 15 Replies
02-26-2014 01:20 AM

I am working with Robot model gathered from Revit. Unrotunately I don't have acces to Revit model to correct it before sending to Robot. I cleared most of inaccuracies but still it takes ages to generate computinal model and than analyise it. I will be very grateful for any guideline how to deal with it and make model lighter.

Regards,

 

Bartosz Borowiak

 

Link to model file: http://www.filemail.com/d/ganmmgvhbpkklju

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,055
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Revit -> Robot model corection problem

02-26-2014 01:47 AM in reply to: bartosz_borowiak

 I cleared most of inaccuracies but still it takes ages to generate computinal model and than analyise it. 

Did you?

What about unmeshed panels? What abot concertation of meshes -> something wrong with geometry.

Search forum for topics about model correction, inaccuracies, meshing

HInts: do not use regular mesh, do not use kinematic links, for this model I recommend min 1m mesh, try to mesh walls first then the rest.



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,055
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Revit -> Robot model corection problem

02-26-2014 07:04 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

To start - use this model: http://we.tl/tJJFt78jlb

Some walls geometry is corrected but....

The rest must be done by you - either correct only meshes or geometry and meshes

 

incohmesh.jpg



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Contributor
bartosz_borowiak
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-26-2014

Re: Revit -> Robot model corection problem

02-26-2014 09:57 AM in reply to: bartosz_borowiak

Witaj Rafal, Thank you for that model but,

 

In the meantime I did corrected geometry and applied preferences about generating mesh. Still having problem to analysis it with selfweight. It's my first time working with revit exprted model and I'm getting my nerves with it.

 

Attached  model:

http://www.filemail.com/d/ofawbuyxbebbxqo

 

Kind regards

 

Bartek

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,055
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Revit -> Robot model corection problem

02-27-2014 02:57 AM in reply to: bartosz_borowiak

Why didn't you correct my ~30000 nodes model?

If you want to use yours - 371000 nodes - your choice but you need to have 12+ GB RAM memory and time.

 

nodesnu.jpg



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Contributor
bartosz_borowiak
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-26-2014

Re: Revit -> Robot model corection problem

02-27-2014 04:00 AM in reply to: bartosz_borowiak

In th emeantime I was correcting my geometry and I thought that will be better model. I will corect yours with less node and we will se what will happen. Thank you

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,055
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Revit -> Robot model corection problem

02-27-2014 04:03 AM in reply to: bartosz_borowiak
30-40 thousand node model is OK for this structure.
Go in this direction.


Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Contributor
bartosz_borowiak
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-26-2014

Re: Revit -> Robot model corection problem

02-27-2014 08:46 AM in reply to: bartosz_borowiak

Thank you for that hint. In fact it was so much easier and quicker working on that "light" version of model with less nodes. My corrected model attached below, still with some meshing problems. Thank in advance for help.

 

http://www.4shared.com/zip/ms_QGSOece/JLP_BB.html

Please use plain text.
Contributor
bartosz_borowiak
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-26-2014

Re: Revit -> Robot model corection problem

02-27-2014 09:29 AM in reply to: bartosz_borowiak

Untitled.png

 

Untitled2.png

 

I'm aware that those are locations of the meshing problem but can't really figure out how it can be even better corrected.

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,055
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Revit -> Robot model corection problem

02-28-2014 12:14 AM in reply to: bartosz_borowiak
File please


Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.