Robot Structural Analysis Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Robot Structural Analysis Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Robot Structural Analysis topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RC Column Design Height error

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
1272 Views, 7 Replies

RC Column Design Height error

Hello!
I'm a student who's currently investigating the connection between Revit2015 and RobotASP2015 and I've encontered the a problem in RC Element Calculation on columns. The correct heigth of the column doesn't match the heigth of the RC calculations.

I understand that the column sets the heigth from the Top of the beams, but that leads to incorrect values since the column should have a "X" value and not "X+(Hsuperiorbeam/2)-(Hinferiorbeam/2)".

Another consequence of this is the link to REVIT2015, that makes the Rebars going out of the column, since the column in Revit2015 have 2.50 meters and the rebars calculated from RobotASP2015 have the calculation and length of the previous incorrect heigth "2.50+(0.40/2)-(0.0/2)=2.70m" (the 0.0 m since its a column from the ground level).

Is there a solution to this, out of manually inputting the correct heigth of the column in every column on Robot RC Elements?

Thanks in advance,

Vitor Pascoal

PS: in attachment i put the .rtd file if necessary and the image below

Heigth columns.png

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Artur.Kosakowski
in reply to: 1070134

The theoretical column's height is from the bottom node to the top node and the beam is inserted at its center line rather than at its top surface as in Revit which stands for the 20 cm difference (half of the beam height). You can change the column height manually as shown on the attached picture.

If you find your post answered press the Accept as Solution button please. This will help other users to find solutions much faster. Thank you.

Artur Kosakowski
Message 3 of 8
in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski