Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Valued Contributor
Leader_Mohamed
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎11-21-2013

Re: Project Octopus seamlessly access Robot data and results with Excel

01-12-2014 09:21 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda
worked fine , thx.
Please use plain text.
Valued Mentor
tony.ridley
Posts: 653
Registered: ‎09-07-2011

Re: Project Octopus seamlessly access Robot data and results with Excel

01-20-2014 11:01 PM in reply to: Leader_Mohamed

Hi guys....

 

No Wel ?

 

Seems only to give formula for Wpl.....

 

will the Octopus get some more tenticles and allow access to elastic section modulus?  :smileyhappy:

 

Tony

Please use plain text.
Contributor
ClémentTAHERI6316
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎05-25-2012

Re: Project Octopus seamlessly access Robot data and results with Excel

01-30-2014 03:13 AM in reply to: Romanich

Hello,

 

Does it work the other way round? I mean if you modify lets say the position of a node in excel, will it change in ROBOT?Do the two programms interact?

 

Thank you.

Please use plain text.
Valued Mentor
tony.ridley
Posts: 653
Registered: ‎09-07-2011

Re: Project Octopus seamlessly access Robot data and results with Excel

01-30-2014 02:38 PM in reply to: ClémentTAHERI6316

The programs interact, but it's more like Excel can extract data and information.

If you see the formula in Excel it looks like this;

Capture.JPG 

 

The X co-ordinate of node 1 is -9m.  If you just typed 9 into the cell it would over write the formula. 

You'd need to use VBA if you needed to update Robot out of Excel.

 

Tony

Please use plain text.
Contributor
ClémentTAHERI6316
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎05-25-2012

Re: Project Octopus seamlessly access Robot data and results with Excel

01-31-2014 05:19 AM in reply to: Romanich

Hello,

 

Is there a version for 32bit window platform?

 

Thank you.

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,604
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Project Octopus seamlessly access Robot data and results with Excel

01-31-2014 05:22 AM in reply to: ClémentTAHERI6316
System Requirements

Autodesk Robot Structural Analysis Professional 2014

Windows 8 (64-bit)
Windows 7 (64-bit)

Microsoft Office Excel 2013 (32-bit and 64-bit)
Microsoft Office Excel 2010 (32-bit and 64-bit)

https://beta.autodesk.com/project/home.html?cap=88F6AD3A8AB1489F81E537C21424A4A5


Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Board Manager
scott.sheppard
Posts: 1,115
Registered: ‎11-13-2006

Re: Project Octopus seamlessly access Robot data and results with Excel

02-01-2014 09:51 AM in reply to: ClémentTAHERI6316

At this time the team is reaching out to 64-bit users only. There are enough people using 64-bit so that the team can get the feedback about the technology preview that the team needs.



Scott Sheppard
Program Manager
Autodesk Labs
Autodesk, Inc.
Please use plain text.
Valued Mentor
tony.ridley
Posts: 653
Registered: ‎09-07-2011

Re: Project Octopus seamlessly access Robot data and results with Excel

02-02-2014 02:05 AM in reply to: scott.sheppard

32 bit?

 

They'll be expecting support for MS DOS soon........

 

Time to upgrade :smileyhappy:

 

 

Please use plain text.
New Member
Dhabi123
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-09-2014

Re: Project Octopus seamlessly access Robot data and results with Excel

02-09-2014 04:16 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

I get the attached error image attached  while opening the file c:\Program Files\Autodesk\Project Octopus\Framework\ASC.vsto..Please comment

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,604
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Project Octopus seamlessly access Robot data and results with Excel

02-10-2014 02:15 AM in reply to: Dhabi123
What is your system? 32 or 64 bit?
What is your Excel? 32 or 64 bit?
Do you have installed dotnet 4.5? if not please install it http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30653


Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.