Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
mam
Member
mam
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-17-2011

Profile Database - How to add / edit / remove profiles from existing databases?

2791 Views, 10 Replies
03-23-2012 10:21 AM

Hello.

I am wondering how can I add / remove / edit profiles from existing profile databases?

Martin

Please use plain text.
Valued Mentor
tony.ridley
Posts: 653
Registered: ‎09-07-2011

Re: Profile Database - How to add / edit / remove profiles from existing databas

03-24-2012 04:17 AM in reply to: mam

See PDF

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,604
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Profile Database - How to add / edit / remove profiles from existing databas

03-25-2012 11:41 PM in reply to: mam

Also look at Tools menu \ Section Database viewer.

Removing: select record (row) in table part, press Del key on keyboard.



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
mam
Member
mam
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-17-2011

Re: Profile Database - How to add / edit / remove profiles from existing databas

03-26-2012 12:38 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

tony.ridley: Thx for nice explonation. I am aware of this posibility, but it means that I have to draw each section by my self.

 

RG_Adsk: I already checked that and it doesn't work. I can't even copy sestions from one database to another, as it is described in Help. 

I tried to creat a new line in existing databae, but there is no empty row at the end og the section databse table. Maybe pro.xml files are closed for editing? If the database it open for editing, I get a * (STAR) row at the end of Section Databse table, but it is not possible here. It is probably becouse whoever created databases they are checked: "STANDARD DATABASE" checkbox when they ware creating new databse. Even if I go to propertities and uncheck that box, I don't get * row at the end. I have to check more.

 

My main problem is that Norwegian profile database (NS34pro.xml) is lacking of CFRS profiles from 350x350 and up, so I thought I can add them my self. but without success. What I really want to have is leatest Steel profile databse according to Eurocodes like EN 10219-2, EN10210-2 and so on.

 

I am beta tester for Robot 2013 and the databases there are the same as in Robot 2012.

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,604
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Profile Database - How to add / edit / remove profiles from existing databas

03-26-2012 03:37 AM in reply to: mam

There are some databases created on different templates so copying section between them may not be possible.

 

Do it this way: 

- copy NS database onto new user file name, open it in Section Database Viewer, change Properties, name description etc, uncheck standard, remove contents if required.

- put it to   C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\Structural\Common Data\2012\

- open it in robot Job Preferences

 

Then you can copy sections between NS database and this one newly created one by Section Database viewer



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
mam
Member
mam
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-17-2011

Re: Profile Database - How to add / edit / remove profiles from existing databas

03-26-2012 04:08 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Thx Rafal. I will try to do so.

 

BTW. Dziekuje.

Please use plain text.
Active Member
jonatas.decampos
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-07-2012

Re: Profile Database - How to add / edit / remove profiles from existing databas

01-15-2013 12:40 PM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Good afternoon,

 

I'm having the same problem. I'm working with RSA 2013 with service pack 3.
I tried to follow his recommendation, but did not work.:smileysad:

When I transfer copying a database to another, gets frozen. does not make a copy.


I made copies otherwise it worked. :smileyvery-happy: Copy a table to excel, deleted the columns "False", and returned to copy the new database. It worked.
I wonder why does not work the way recommended by Autodesk? Paste directly between the two database.

 

Thank you,

 

Jonatas

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 5,115
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Profile Database - How to add / edit / remove profiles from existing database

01-16-2013 12:09 AM in reply to: jonatas.decampos

Which database have you tried to copy from and where have you tried to paste the section?



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Active Member
jonatas.decampos
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-07-2012

Re: Profile Database - How to add / edit / remove profiles from existing databas

01-16-2013 06:23 AM in reply to: mam

I used the AISCpro copying to a new database (for a test). I tried with others too, but it did not work. See attached image.
Please, I need an urgent solution. For I have two databases that were made by "Section Definition" and now must join in a single database.

 

Thank you,

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 5,115
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: Profile Database - How to add / edit / remove profiles from existing databas

01-16-2013 07:38 AM in reply to: jonatas.decampos

So the situation is that you have two user section databases and you want to copy sections from one of them to another. Am I correct?

 

Could you send me these databases and tell which should be the 'merged' one?



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.