Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Active Contributor
FilRib
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Accepted Solution

Problem with load applying in cladding

321 Views, 5 Replies
11-06-2012 04:40 AM

Hi,

 

I'm experiencing a problem when i try to apply a perpendicular load to A PART of a cladding. The program is generating a load according to global Z axis and i want to consider the cladding Z axis.

 

Please see pictures below:

 

1. Applying the Load:

 

2.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 - Final Result

 

1.JPG

 

The result should be : Load perpendicular to panel and with opposite sign!

 

I tryed with planar load 3p on contour and the result is the same.

 

Thanks in advance!

 

Filipe Ribeiro

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,777
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: Problem with load applying in cladding

11-06-2012 05:12 AM in reply to: FilRib

Please check the attached picture. Mind to generate model first.

 

If you find your post answered press the Accept as Solution button please. This will help other users to find solutions much faster. Thank you.



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Active Contributor
FilRib
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎01-07-2009

Re: Problem with load applying in cladding

11-06-2012 06:38 AM in reply to: FilRib

Hi Artur,

 

Thanks for the quick response, but i think you miss understood me.

 

This is what i want:

 

Certo.jpg

(this picture is edited in paint. I cant make the software generate a load like this)

 

And this is what i get (using uniform planar load on contour and with Planar load 3p on contour):

 

Errado.jpg

 

The loaded element its a cladding, not a bar! and i want to apply a load in part of it. 

 

Anexo.jpg

 

 

Thanks!

 

FR

 

EDIT: I'm reaching the conclusion that the calculations are right but the graphical representation is wrong. Is it true?

 

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,777
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: Problem with load applying in cladding

11-06-2012 06:47 AM in reply to: FilRib

The display of the load definition is actually as you said but this is not the load as finally applied to the bars that 'support' the cladding. During the model generation this load is 'replaced' with load applied to the bars and which can be visible in the way I indicated on the picture (red frames). Such generated bar loads should no longer be vertical but inclined according to the local Z axis of the cladding. This is the reason the loads applied to bars are generated as vertical and horizontal ones (the equivalent loads will be parallel the local Z of the cladding).

 

If you find your post answered press the Accept as Solution button please. This will help other users to find solutions much faster. Thank you.



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Active Contributor
FilRib
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎01-07-2009

Re: Problem with load applying in cladding

11-06-2012 06:55 AM in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski

Just a conclusion note:

 

I think the graphical representation should be perpendicular to cladding, otherwise it could lead to modeling errors.

 

Thanks!

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,777
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: Problem with load applying in cladding

11-06-2012 07:09 AM in reply to: FilRib

This load is a bit more versatile and therefore not that easy to be shown without switching to the 'model generated' one :smileyhappy:



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.