Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Active Member
joaocosmoscivil
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-22-2012

Overlap between slabs and beams

619 Views, 4 Replies
08-18-2012 01:27 AM

Comparing simple hand calculations with the Robot results regarding beams supporting slabs, I've noticed two things:

  - Robot overlaps the beams and slabs and seems to consider the weight of both independently, meaning that the reactions will be higher than reality;

  - The connection between the beams and columns doesn't represent the real rigidity of the composite beam+slab, as the slab makes the beam behave as a T-beam.

 

Questions:

  - is there a way to subtract the overlapped weight?

  - is is possible to "lower" the beam seen in the image so that the top os flush with the slab and make them act with the equivalent moment of inertia? Or is it better choose an equivalent T-section for the beam? (in this case the overlapping problem gets even worse)

 

 

Capture T-beam.JPG

 

Thanks

Joao

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: Overlap between slabs and beams

08-19-2012 11:56 PM in reply to: joaocosmoscivil

Please check:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Robot-Structural/T-slab/m-p/3185418

and

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Robot-Structural/Beam-offsets/m-p/3332921

 

If you find your post answered press the Accept as Solution button please. This will help other users to find solutions much faster. Thank you.



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
robo-bart
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎04-14-2012

Re: Overlap between slabs and beams

10-17-2013 12:34 AM in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski

I read thru the post, however, the topic seems to concern on the analysis of the beam.

How about the deduction of the overlap between beams and slabs for calculation of dead weight reaction?

How can this be done automatically in Robot?

 

My intention is to use the reactions for load takedown and i want to reduce the weight this way. 

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,341
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Overlap between slabs and beams

10-17-2013 12:45 AM in reply to: robo-bart

How about the deduction of the overlap between beams and slabs for calculation of dead weight reaction?

How can this be done automatically in Robot?

 

Not considered at all.

If you want do it by your own.

 



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
robo-bart
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎04-14-2012

Re: Overlap between slabs and beams

10-17-2013 01:36 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Would be nice if there is such capability eventually. :smileyhappy:

Thanks for clarifying.

Please use plain text.