Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Mentor
andrea.pontiggia
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎01-29-2012
Accepted Solution

Meshing into robots 2012

1963 Views, 13 Replies
01-30-2012 12:41 AM
Hello, I have a problem with the mesh of robots. Using Revit Structure 2012 to create the model, once imported into robots, by starting the calculation often displays this message "FailureModel - Circular reference in the definition kinematic constrains. Please, try to constrainkinematic remesh or switch off." I tried all the options remesh, I checked out the design of the model and it seems to me regularly. How can I do? I attach the file you just exported from Revit. Thanks to whoever gives me an answer Andrea
Andrea
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,207
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Meshing into robots 2012

01-30-2012 12:52 AM in reply to: andrea.pontiggia

Start with the settings in Job Preferences as shown in this thread:

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Robot-Structural/Mesh-Bracket-error/m-p/3171162/highlight/tru...



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Mentor
andrea.pontiggia
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎01-29-2012

Re: Meshing into robots 2012

01-30-2012 01:14 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda
Thank you for answer. But I had already tried that option. The result is that the meshing is not consistent. There is the possibility that robots may generate a mesh automatically respecting the consistency of the model? It 'a problem of settings for Revit Structure? thanks Andrea
Andrea
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,207
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Meshing into robots 2012

01-30-2012 01:24 AM in reply to: andrea.pontiggia

That's why I wrote "start with...".

In fact your revit analytical model is not consistent \ not coherent  \ not enough accurate.

I will try to fix Robot model and upload it and write you where to look at.

(If you upload revit model we can try to show you how to correct analytical model in it)

 

Try to use meshing options as shown below it will help. Order or meshing panels may also help (some slabs first, before adjoinning walls or vice versa)

 

mesh.JPG



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,207
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Meshing into robots 2012

01-30-2012 05:33 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

I have attached corrected model. It is not perfect but works fine.

 

Take a closer look at the places where rigid links are defined -> not properly connected elements in RST. Many other places where columns are not properly connected with beams or beam not defined on slabs egdes corected by me.

 

PLease note that according to your revit settings all bar elements are defined \ transfered to Robot with pinned releases. So such definition may cause instabilities in model due to not enouugh stiffening in some places. Ie in bars  194do196 198do200 205 207 236do238 244  in this model.

 

If you do not mind uploading revit file we will make a closer look at its analytical model.



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Mentor
andrea.pontiggia
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎01-29-2012

Re: Meshing into robots 2012

01-30-2012 08:12 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Thank you Rafal.
I send you the file in Revit, divided into 4 rows because more than 1.5 Mb imposed. I also think that the error could be in the Revit model, in fact I tried to make a similar case directly to the robot and not designed to be no problem.
In Revit, graphically, the model seems correct, the problem seems the walls.
How can I check the model in Revit, keeping the real geometry of my building?
If I draw only beams or columns do not have the same problems.
thanks

 

N.B.

sending 01 of 04


Andrea
Please use plain text.
Mentor
andrea.pontiggia
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎01-29-2012

Re: Meshing into robots 2012

01-30-2012 08:18 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Sending 02 of 04

Andrea
Please use plain text.
Mentor
andrea.pontiggia
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎01-29-2012

Re: Meshing into robots 2012

01-30-2012 08:19 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Sending 03 of 04

Andrea
Please use plain text.
Mentor
andrea.pontiggia
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎01-29-2012

Re: Meshing into robots 2012

01-30-2012 08:21 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Sending 04 of 04

Andrea
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,207
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Meshing into robots 2012

02-03-2012 07:34 AM in reply to: andrea.pontiggia

I had no enough time to correct model but I want to show you some errors causing problems.

In general you should set "fixed" elements as walls, maybe some columns and basing on them correct the analytical model.

edge.jpg

 

 

slabwall.jpg

 

beams.jpg



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.