Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
PatrickEC
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
Accepted Solution

Meshing connection model

266 Views, 3 Replies
11-19-2012 02:45 PM

I tried various settings and I do not seem to be able to create a good mesh for my model. I will appreciate any suggestion on how to make it work.

 

Here is the model: http://www.mediafire.com/?u9as9onx94bmafu

 

Connection_model_mesh_1.png

 

Connection_model_mesh_2.png

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,849
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: Meshing connection model

11-19-2012 11:30 PM in reply to: PatrickEC

I have sent you the corrected model (Edit > Detailed Correct > adjust to indicated planes) by email.

 

If you find your post answered press the Accept as Solution button please. This will help other users to find solutions much faster. Thank you.



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
PatrickEC
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎04-10-2012

Re: Meshing connection model

11-20-2012 07:21 AM in reply to: PatrickEC

Artur, thank you for your help.

 

I am trying to recreate your workflow, you mentioned the following steps:

 

1. Redefining the supports

 

I changed them to linear supports and it works better now.

 

2. Fixing the panel #102

 

How did you fix it?

 

3. Manually merging the nodes

 

What is the best way to do it?

 

4. Edit > Detailed Correct > adjust to indicated planes

 

What did you use it for?

 

 

I am also confused why after I delete the mesh in the first model that you sent me and then regenerate it, the new mesh is different then the original mesh. See here: http://screencast.com/t/1rDQCr34m6

 

 

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,849
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: Meshing connection model

11-21-2012 02:25 AM in reply to: PatrickEC

2. Fixing the panel #102

 

How did you fix it?

 

4. Edit > Detailed Correct > adjust to indicated planes

 

What did you use it for?

 

See the attached picture.

 

3. Manually merging the nodes

 

What is the best way to do it?

 

Select one of nodes you want to merge and move it over another. The model generation will merge them.

 

I am also confused why after I delete the mesh in the first model that you sent me and then regenerate it, the new mesh is different then the original mesh. See here: http://screencast.com/t/1rDQCr34m6

 

 If you set the meshing parameters as Auto then the mesh depends on the order of meshing. If you look at such meshed panels and you decide that you want to alter mesh you may run local meshing which can produce different result as mesh adapts to already meshed neighboring panels.


 



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.