Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Jummybear
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎11-16-2011
Accepted Solution

Is it possible to update/renew profile database?

255 Views, 6 Replies
12-09-2013 04:39 AM

I have found that some profiles are miss (for example i use finnish steel section database). However, missed section (for example it is tube 50x50x4) should be in this database and is used quite often. I know that i can add manually sections and save tha database, but its not only that section missed. There are some more. Thats why i ask is it possible to update whole database instead of drawing by hand each missed profile?

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,184
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Is it possible to update/renew profile database?

12-09-2013 04:54 AM in reply to: Jummybear
Yes it is possible.
Open database in Section Database Viewer, in properties unmark "Standard Database...."
then copy whole existing record with similar section to the last line with "*", then update values in cells accordingly

BTW please send us details what is missing + references


Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
Jummybear
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎11-16-2011

Re: Is it possible to update/renew profile database?

12-09-2013 05:20 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda
I will try, thank you for quick reply. What does you mean by "reference"? I dont know what did you (what info, which materials) use to compile finland steel section database. I am from Estonia, but we commonly use all finland steel profiles. Ruukki is one of the biggest factories in Finland, probably the biggest one and we use steel profiles from their catalogue. As i mentioned above, i cant tell at the moment all missed profiles, but for example tube 50x50x4 is missed. They also have 50x50x5, but i suppose it goes as a special order because it is used vary rarely.
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,184
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Is it possible to update/renew profile database?

12-09-2013 06:05 AM in reply to: Jummybear
We made it basing on Ruuki catalog years ago


Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Contributor
RSAvis
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎05-24-2013

Re: Is it possible to update/renew profile database?

12-09-2013 06:43 AM in reply to: Jummybear

For the Z purlin, how i can create a new profile by edit a existing one?

 

I can not find the profile Z like:

 

09-12-2013 9-42-25 PM.jpg

Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
Jummybear
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎11-16-2011

Re: Is it possible to update/renew profile database?

12-09-2013 07:35 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Then i think it will be enough if you team will renew/update profiles from the same Ruukkii catalogue. I hope we will see supplemented database sometime in future with some servicepack/hotfix or whatever. Thanks.

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,184
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Is it possible to update/renew profile database?

12-09-2013 08:02 AM in reply to: RSAvis

For the Z purlin, how i can create a new profile by edit a existing one?

 

You can .

Check this thread

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Robot-Structural-Analysis/How-to-create-thin-walled-sections/td-p/3107...

esspecially post 11, attachment EC3.....

 

 



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.