Robot Structural Analysis Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Robot Structural Analysis Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Robot Structural Analysis topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Instability type 1 and 2 in frame/cable structure

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
mailingbot
810 Views, 7 Replies

Instability type 1 and 2 in frame/cable structure

Hi,

I am just a begginner in autodesk robot and I am an architect not an structural engineer so I could have made mistakes.

I am trying to analyze a 3d structure consisting of timber frames with additional wire support. 

I am using a script to transfer the shape from grasshopper to robot.

I am getting instabilities at all the positions of wires.

The way I define wires might not be right as I am not using cables from robot.

I just used a steel element with hinges on both sides. This shouldn;t matter in the instabilities I think as I should get it working if I use steel bars instead, but it isn't working.

I am attaching a file in robot and also the design concept of the trusss that show s the idea behind it

concept1.jpg

concept2.jpg

Tags (1)
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Rafacascudo
in reply to: mailingbot

Delete releases for "Wire section" and " section verticals". Set the "Wire section" bars to tension only ( Menu/geometry/additional atributes/Advanced bar properties)

Set non linear paramenters for each load case and combination to... see below , tick "matrix update after each iteration"

nonlinear parameters.jpg

you should look carefully to this structure model as not all "Wire section" bars are in tension

Rafael Medeiros
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

EESignature

Message 3 of 8
mailingbot
in reply to: Rafacascudo

Thank you. After doing these steps I do not have instability errors any more.