Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Member
bakadi
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-26-2012

incoherent mesh

548 Views, 7 Replies
10-26-2012 03:46 AM

Hi,

I have been trying to fix warnings of the model. The model is imported from revit.

I cannot fix the warnning incoherent mesh on edge... I tried to follow the following posts

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Robot-Structural/Meshing-into-robots-2012/td-p/3310651

but still couldn't fix the warning.please suggest

Michal.

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,607
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: incoherent mesh

10-26-2012 05:02 AM in reply to: bakadi

Hint no 1 : wall panels should be defined as a serie of panels "from level to level"  not as a one or two panels along full building heigth.

Hint no 2 : I do not see you have set meshing parameters as shown on the link you found and posted (try these settings maybe with mesh size 1m at the begining)

Hint 3: mesh slabs first,then walls

Hint 4 : correct model as stated in hint 1

Hint 5 : if possible please send me Revit model.

 

I will do my best with this model.

 

 

 

 



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,607
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: incoherent mesh

10-26-2012 05:24 AM in reply to: bakadi
Please use plain text.
Member
bakadi
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-26-2012

Re: incoherent mesh

10-26-2012 11:08 PM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Dear Rafal,

 

I greatly appreciate your quick reply:smileyhappy:

 

quick question

Hint no 1:

 

-Should the columns be assigned as level to level too? As some column running through multiple levels. I will remodel the revit model as your suggestion.

 

Hint no 2:

-the meshed model was too big to be attached to the post

 

hint no4:

-I do not have the revit model with me at the moment. I will correct the model as per your suggestion as soon as I get back to my office and send you the model if possible. 

 

Thanks again for your quick reply

 

 

Michael

 

Please use plain text.
Member
bakadi
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-26-2012

Re: incoherent mesh

10-28-2012 09:11 PM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Hi Rafal,

I took the following step according to your hint 3

-first I set advanced meshing option for both slabs and walls as followingadvance meshing option.jpg

I have also set "Iterative adjustment of the FE mesh" in job preference

 

- i select all slabs and run "local mesh generationlocal mesh generation icon.jpg"

-did the same for walls

-then  run calculation

 

i still get the following errors 

error.jpg

 

did i go wrong somewhere?

 

If possible please explain steps you took to make the model works.

 

Thank you in advance.

 

Michael

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,607
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: incoherent mesh

10-29-2012 03:35 AM in reply to: bakadi

 

-Should the columns be assigned as level to level too? As some column running through multiple levels. I will remodel the revit model as your suggestion.

 

In case of running RC design in robot or getting story \ strories results - yes.

 

-the meshed model was too big to be attached to the post

 

But meshing correct options were not set in attached file

 

 

-I do not have the revit model with me at the moment. I will correct the model as per your suggestion as soon as I get back to my office and send you the model if possible. 

 

If possible adjust revit analytical model move("align") slab egdes to wall analytical model in places where this distance is small for eg 0,5*wall thickness.

 

slabwall1.jpg

 

 



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,607
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: incoherent mesh

10-29-2012 04:26 AM in reply to: bakadi

-first I set advanced meshing option for both slabs and walls as following

 

 

Still wrong settings - greyed out field settings are also important.

 

did i go wrong somewhere?

 

No but it is not that easy, you have to make some manipulatinos manually also.

 

If possible please explain steps you took to make the model works.

 

OK, I will.

 



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,607
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: incoherent mesh

10-31-2012 04:31 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

If possible please explain steps you took to make the model works.

 

OK, I will.

 

Procedure for model you send me in attached pdf.

 

 



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.