Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,829
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: I cannot open dwg file exported from Robot

09-10-2012 12:37 AM in reply to: gustavo.c.vasconcellos

This Brazilian template is the Revit 'native' rebar family rather the Robot/ASD/Revit Extensions 'certified' one that originates from one of the existing in these programs reinforcement bars databases. These bars are not available in Robot/ASD/Revit Extensions. If you use them in your Revit project when you send them to Robot there is the attempt to map them to the currently selected database (code) in Robot and then the same happens when you send them to ASD. Till the moment the Brazilian reinforcement database is available in Robot/ASD/Revit Extensions this is not officially supported workflow as the mapping may not be correct (see the message 12 in this thread).



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
gustavo.c.vasconcellos
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎04-15-2011

Re: I cannot open dwg file exported from Robot

09-10-2012 07:24 AM in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski

So what should I do? Don't use Brazilian's Revit version? If it is the reason for so many crashes in ASD ... I will do it.

 

Thanks

 

Gustavo

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,829
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: I cannot open dwg file exported from Robot

09-10-2012 07:55 AM in reply to: gustavo.c.vasconcellos

Gustavo,

 

We will try to check if there is any solution available. Unfortunately I will be out of the office till the next month but my colleagues will try to help. What we need is the information about the way you work with this template in Revit. Is it that you generate beam reinforcement using Brazilian reinforcement bars and then you use Revit Extensions to transfer this reinforcement to Robot and ASD? Can you make a documents with screen captures or  make a small move that illustrates all the steps and send it with a sample Robot file with beam reinforcement generated in 'your' way please? Thank you for your help.



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
gustavo.c.vasconcellos
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎04-15-2011

Re: I cannot open dwg file exported from Robot

09-10-2012 08:41 PM in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski

Dear Artur,

 

I believe that I  will have to unistall Revit's Brazilian version and work the way I was doing before.

 

Even if I don't use the Brazilian regional settings, but using the Brazilian template that comes with Revit, I am having issues with ASD. Even, if i don't model any rebar in Revit!

 

See attached video.

 

http://www.screencast.com/t/LE6GQvs4p

 

Remember, I changed the Bar_EHE_xml to meet Brazilian bars, and I am using Italy template (RBCR-039) because it has the closest shapes with the Brazilian one. I changed the words in this template from Italian to Portuguese

 

Thanks

 

Gustavo

Please use plain text.