Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Active Contributor
hilda08
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎02-07-2012

hollow slab

195 Views, 5 Replies
04-20-2012 12:54 AM

i changed my hollow slab to a bigger one, but when i did, the ratio for the beams got smaller. shouldent it be lagrer? 

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,303
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: hollow slab

04-20-2012 12:57 AM in reply to: hilda08

It depends on stiffeness of whole this system. Play with different slab thicknesses \ beam sizes and look at results.



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Active Contributor
hilda08
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎02-07-2012

Re: hollow slab

04-20-2012 01:06 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

i have to have a certian tickness of the slab, but i dont understand why the ratio of the beams got lower when then slab got bigger. 

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,303
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: hollow slab

04-20-2012 03:27 AM in reply to: hilda08

 

 

slaband beams.jpg

 

slabrel.jpg



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Active Contributor
jenyzosin
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎04-27-2009

Re: hollow slab

04-20-2012 07:15 AM in reply to: hilda08

When the slab have a biger height, the rigidity of the slab is biger and the beams can't deform.

My advise is to create a thin slab (like 7 or 8 cm ) and the diference of weight (til 30 cm) you give as a surface load on slab. I use this metod when I want to increase the ratio for beams. 

There's a fine line between genius and insanity. I have erased this line - O.L.
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,962
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: hollow slab

04-20-2012 07:24 AM in reply to: hilda08

Hilda,

 

Please check also:

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Robot-Structural/unrealistic-beams/m-p/3390693/

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Robot-Structural/Beam-offsets/m-p/3332921/

 

Hope this help you understand this situation even better.



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.