Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Valued Contributor
Jesper.Jensen
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎05-02-2012
Accepted Solution

Error message in reinforcement designer

265 Views, 7 Replies
09-06-2012 12:33 AM

Hi,

 

I recieved this error message when running the reinforcement designer in a floor plate model. When I run model verifications there are no problems. Deflections and moments looks fine when reviewing contour maps.

 

Any idea what this error message means?

Thanks,

Jesper

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,493
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Error message in reinforcement designer

09-06-2012 12:37 AM in reply to: Jesper.Jensen

Send us model please



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
Jesper.Jensen
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎05-02-2012

Re: Error message in reinforcement designer

09-06-2012 12:50 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Hi Rafal,

 

Thanks for the prompt reply. Please use the link below.

http://wtrns.fr/MLmfjn7k4HWYq94

 

Jesper

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,493
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Error message in reinforcement designer

09-06-2012 02:22 AM in reply to: Jesper.Jensen

It seems it is related to panel thickness 550cm and 700cm. 

If you replace them by 80cm it is ok.

Develepers will have to look at it.



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
Jesper.Jensen
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎05-02-2012

Re: Error message in reinforcement designer

09-17-2012 11:14 PM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Hi Rafal,

 

Has someone looked into this as you mentioned?

 

If you have a look at my attachment, the slab that I'm trying to represent in Robot has a number of steps where a deep beam connects the horisontal slab. This is effectively a wall, but in Robot I have to model the FE panels in the same plane (right) and therefore I have to model them as a slab with a very high structural depth.

 

When I display my moments the results look OK. The problem only occur when I try to use the reinforcement designer. Is this because the reinforcement designer is only usable up to a certain slab depth? In that case how deep slabs is it ok for?

 

Thanks,

Jesper

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,493
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Error message in reinforcement designer

09-18-2012 01:52 AM in reply to: Jesper.Jensen
Jesper

 

If you have a look at my attachment, the slab that I'm trying to represent in Robot has a number of steps where a deep beam connects the horisontal slab. This is effectively a wall, but in Robot I have to model the FE panels in the same plane (right) and therefore I have to model them as a slab with a very high structural depth.

 

 

From plate and shell theory this panel should be defined as a solid.

 

When I display my moments the results look OK. The problem only occur when I try to use the reinforcement designer. Is this because the reinforcement designer is only usable up to a certain slab depth?

 

No, there is no such limitation in program but developers have to look at the program code to find the reason.

My guess for your reinforcement -> most likely you will get min reinforcement everywhere in these thick slabs.

 

 

 



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
Jesper.Jensen
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎05-02-2012

Re: Error message in reinforcement designer

09-18-2012 05:31 PM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Hi Rafal,

 

Why would it have to be solids and not just am FE wall?

Do you have any illustrations of how a FE slab of floor panels is joined/connected with a wall using solids?

 

Thanks in advance,

Jesper

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,493
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Error message in reinforcement designer

09-19-2012 04:07 AM in reply to: Jesper.Jensen
Jesper

Why would it have to be solids and not just am FE wall?

 

I said "should".

This is the theory for Robot FEs : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plate_theory#Kirchhoff.E2.80.93Love_theory_for_thin_plates

 

Do you have any illustrations of how a FE slab of floor panels is joined/connected with a wall using solids?

 

If you want to run RC design on this object leave it as panel \ shell. There is no significant bending in it.

 



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.