Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Contributor
toha_mh
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎06-30-2012
Accepted Solution

Cyclic Reference Problem

409 Views, 3 Replies
12-15-2012 02:08 AM

Hi,

 

I am trying to analyne a building (see attached file). I have reached upto 4th floor without any problem. But when I add more floors, I cannot analyze the building anymore. When I click on calculate button, it shows the following error message - "model error - a cyclic reference in the definition of kinematic constraints ..."

 

Why is this happening? From the 3rd floor all the floors above are identical, so I am using the translate option. So if upto 3rd floor is correct, then the rest should be correct also. But it still shows error.

 

However I tried to change the meshing to 0.5 meters. It works, but it makes the file very large. When I complete upto 18th floor, it generates almost 130000 nodes and it takes almost 30 minutes to calculate.

 

How can I solve this problem?

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,498
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Cyclic Reference Problem

12-17-2012 12:55 AM in reply to: toha_mh

My settings:

 

moop.jpg

 

Meshed file: https://www.filemail.com/dl.aspx?id=CPSGMQLMDBUDENN

 



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Contributor
toha_mh
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎06-30-2012

Re: Cyclic Reference Problemed

12-18-2012 12:50 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Thanks a lot! I also solved it yesterday by complex meshing, but there was 32000 nodes.

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,498
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Cyclic Reference Problemed

12-18-2012 12:51 AM in reply to: toha_mh

If you look at my screen shot settings of greyed out fields are also important



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.