Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Member
JCBH
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-27-2012
Accepted Solution

API error

828 Views, 10 Replies
06-27-2012 07:23 PM

Hi

 

I have a program written in VB .Net for extracting forces from robot using what I understand is the preferred method based around:

 

result_params = Robot.CmpntFactory.Create(IRobotComponentType.I_CT_RESULT_QUERY_PARAMS)

 

The program works fine with Robot 2010 (though it is very slow on large models - an issue for another time). However, I'm having difficulty getting it to work with Robot 2012.  I have both versions installed on the same machine.

 

The program opens the model in ARSA 2012 OK, but when it gets to this line:

 

row_set = New RobotResultRowSet

 

I get the following error:

 

"Error 429: Retrieving the COM class factory for component with CLSID...."

 

Note that I've been through the process of unregistering both ARSA2010 abd  ARSA2012, and then registering ARSA2012 in order to make ARSA2012 Object model available as a COM reference.

 

Any ideas why this error might be happening?  Are there changes to the API between versions which might be causing the issue?  I couldn't see anything in the documentation that suggested the procedure would no longer work.

 

 

 

Any help / suggestions will be gratefully received!

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,587
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: API error

06-28-2012 12:16 AM in reply to: JCBH
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,587
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: API error

06-28-2012 12:18 AM in reply to: JCBH
Please use plain text.
Member
JCBH
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-27-2012

Re: API error

06-28-2012 02:08 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Thanks for the replies, I had read through both of those threads previously and tried what was suggested - including unregistering all versions of Robot and registering only 2012 (using a .BAT, run as administrator).  I've tried this several times and on a few machines and I get the same error when I try to run the results extraction program with ARSA2012.

 

The full text of the error I'm getting is:

 

Error: 429 - Retrieving the COM class factory for component with CLSID {F335E413-5241-418C-9421-A4D1B545F923} failed due to the following error: 80040154 Class not registered (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80040154 (REGDB_E_CLASSNOTREG))

 

I've done a search in the registry for the CLSID and it relates to Robot.ResultRowSet (which makes sense as it's a call to this that raises the error).  The registry indicates this is part of C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Autodesk Robot Structural Analysis Professional 2012\System\Exe\RCOM.dll.

 

Anyway, it does certainly look like the error is due to a problem with COM registration, but the fix noted above doesn't seem to work in this case.  Any other ideas?

 

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,587
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: API error

06-28-2012 03:20 AM in reply to: JCBH

What is your Robot 2010? 32 or 64 bit?

What is your Robot 2012? 32 or 64 bit?

What is your MS Office or the program you use for API? 32 or 64 bit?

 



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,587
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: API error

06-28-2012 05:22 AM in reply to: JCBH

Copy attached file (this is 2012 version file) to 

 

"c:\Program Files\Autodesk\Autodesk Robot Structural Analysis Professional 2012\" 

 

Start Command Prompt as Admin (from rigth hand mouse menu) then register this dll as shown below:

 

rcom.jpg

 

 



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Member
JCBH
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-27-2012

Re: API error

06-28-2012 11:39 PM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

ARSA2010 is 32 Bit

ARSA2012 is 64 Bit

Excel is 32 Bit

 

But - the main routines are written in Visual Basic .Net.  I'm compiling the code into a DLL with Visual Basic Express 2010, then registering it for COM.  I then reference it in the excel spreadsheet (VBA) and drive the program from a macro in there, based on input parameters defined in the spreadsheet.  I have not explicitly defined the target platform for the compilation of the DLL.

 

Anyway, I've followed your steps related to the new RCOM.DLL - this registers OK and once this is done, the error 429 no longer occurs and I am able to extract results – Thanks.

Please use plain text.
Contributor
pawel.soltysiak
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-28-2013

Re: API error

11-29-2013 12:41 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Hi

 

I have exactly the same problem as above,  but with RSA2013. Your fix doesn't work for this version, so , do You have any idea how to solve this problem in the other way ?

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,587
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: API error

12-03-2013 09:42 AM in reply to: pawel.soltysiak
Please use plain text.
Member
JCBH
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-27-2012

Re: API error

03-30-2014 08:00 PM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda
Hi Rafal,

I am now getting this same problem with Robot 2013. Would you be able to provide me with the equivalent RCOM.dll file for R2013 / 64bit?
Please use plain text.