Robot Structural Analysis Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Robot Structural Analysis Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Robot Structural Analysis topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AISC Direct Analysis

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
DCB2524
756 Views, 6 Replies

AISC Direct Analysis

I'm wondering how to implement AISC's "Direct Analysis Method" (per the 13th Edition steel manual) in Robot.  How do I get the program to reduce the flexural and axial stiffness of lateral members for the P-Delta analysis?  I'm new to Robot.  I've typically used RISA or STAAD, both of which provide a way to do this.  I don't see it in Robot.

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
bjur
in reply to: DCB2524

Not sure if this will help but it makes for some good reading. There are a couple for charts that review this issue.
http://www.modernsteel.com/Uploads/Issues/December_2009/122009_Dec09_Steelwise_web.pdf
Message 3 of 7
Artur.Kosakowski

In Robot the solution would be to create a new material with reduced E value for these members.

If you find your post answered press the Accept as Solution button please. This will help other users to find solutions much faster. Thank you.

Artur Kosakowski
Message 4 of 7
DCB2524

I thought of that too, but there's one problem with it: E stays reduced during design.  I need to reduce E for the purposes of analysis and then revert back to the actual value of E for design, otherwise my results are too conservative.

Message 5 of 7
Artur.Kosakowski

The typical steel design process in Robot includes the following steps:

1. Creation of Design Groups

2. Group design

3. Replacement of sections

4. Verification of groups/bars

For this particular situation I would use the following approach

A. Definition of  the E reduced material; applying this material to selected bars; calculations of a model