Revit Structure

Reply
Valued Contributor
kirbybeegles4894
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎12-21-2009
Message 1 of 8 (1,748 Views)

Unconnected Wall Height Parameter

1748 Views, 7 Replies
09-04-2012 12:17 PM

I'm looking for a way to access the unconnected wall height parameter for scheduling and tagging purposes.  Anyone have any idea if there is an extension that will do this?  Seems like there should be a way to write this as a text or length parameter to each wall, similar to how the Exitech extension works for coordinates and elevations.  Thanks!

Product Support
fernanda.firman
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎10-07-2011
Message 2 of 8 (1,730 Views)

Re: Unconnected Wall Height Parameter

09-11-2012 04:04 PM in reply to: kirbybeegles4894

The height of the wall is not a scheduled parameter but you can add a new Calculated Value with the following formula:

Height = Volume/(Width*Length)

 

Hope that helps.



Fernanda Lima Firman
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Revit Clinic


If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help others find answers.
Valued Contributor
kirbybeegles4894
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎12-21-2009
Message 3 of 8 (1,722 Views)

Re: Unconnected Wall Height Parameter

09-12-2012 07:16 AM in reply to: fernanda.firman

I understand that this works to get a rough estimate of the height, but when I create this parameter, none of the caluclated heights match the Unconnected Height parameter listed in the element properties.

Product Support
fernanda.firman
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎10-07-2011
Message 4 of 8 (1,701 Views)

Re: Unconnected Wall Height Parameter

09-19-2012 05:37 PM in reply to: kirbybeegles4894

I was able to get the right height for the unconencted wall.

Please look at the attached images.



Fernanda Lima Firman
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Revit Clinic


If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help others find answers.
Valued Contributor
kirbybeegles4894
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎12-21-2009
Message 5 of 8 (1,675 Views)

Re: Unconnected Wall Height Parameter

09-25-2012 12:34 PM in reply to: fernanda.firman

See the attached image.  The issue is likey because the door has an opening in it.  That means the wall volume is smaller, but length and width are the same as if it were a sold wall with no opening.  That affects the outcome of the wall height calc as shown.

 

I would offer that this is an OK work-around if none of your walls have openings, but still something I'd really like to see fixed.

Member
timstephenson
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
Message 6 of 8 (1,658 Views)

Re: Unconnected Wall Height Parameter

09-26-2012 12:59 PM in reply to: kirbybeegles4894

you can use spot elevation to tag this information

Valued Contributor
kirbybeegles4894
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎12-21-2009
Message 7 of 8 (1,655 Views)

Re: Unconnected Wall Height Parameter

09-26-2012 01:06 PM in reply to: kirbybeegles4894

Absolutely true - but I need this to be a schedule-able parameter for, well, lots of reasons.  Certainly, there must be a lot of other users out there that want to be able to see how many lineal feet of each wall height they have in their project?

Product Support
fernanda.firman
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎10-07-2011
Message 8 of 8 (1,646 Views)

Re: Unconnected Wall Height Parameter

09-26-2012 03:07 PM in reply to: kirbybeegles4894

I understand that this may not be the preferred workflow, so I am including the following link. It is setup for you to submit feature requests, or feedback, directly to our development team:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794

 

I encourage you to use the feedback link as our Development group is always interested and would like to hear your feedback directly, since you are better suited to state the business case for a feature request.



Fernanda Lima Firman
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Revit Clinic


If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help others find answers.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.