Revit Structure

Reply
Active Member
teafoe5
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-20-2013
Message 1 of 4 (451 Views)

Sloped Beam to Beam Connection

451 Views, 3 Replies
02-20-2013 06:56 AM

I have a roof system where I need to have sloping beams spliced together to for the roof angle.  So I have a beam that is set at the level and sloped -10" to 0", another in the same column line 0" to -10" (creating a ridge), another from -10" to 0" and so on across the building.  When I try to put in that beam connected to the last beam it shoots it off into the last grid shrinking the second beam and screwing up the elevations.  See the attached images for clarification.  Any ideas how I can get the 2nd and 3rd beams to connect without it shooting the third beam way? The first and second connect fine its all the beams after that that do not work?!  Is this a bug in 2013?

REVIT 2013

Alumni
kathryn.langan
Posts: 467
Registered: ‎12-16-2008
Message 2 of 4 (374 Views)

Re: Sloped Beam to Beam Connection

02-25-2013 01:53 PM in reply to: teafoe5

Can you try using the Beam/Columns Join tool to see if it results in what you want to see?

 

BeamJoins01.jpg 

 

BeamJoins02.jpg

BeamJoins03.jpg



Katie Langan
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Member
teafoe5
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-20-2013
Message 3 of 4 (372 Views)

Re: Sloped Beam to Beam Connection

02-25-2013 01:57 PM in reply to: teafoe5

Thanks for the response.  I ended up being able to cut the beams to the grid lines.  After it shot my beams off all weird I could cut the long one right away to the grid i needed then I could drag the short one past the grid line (it wont cut if its short of it) and cut it to the grid so it all workedo ut.

Alumni
kathryn.langan
Posts: 467
Registered: ‎12-16-2008
Message 4 of 4 (355 Views)

Re: Sloped Beam to Beam Connection

02-26-2013 04:24 AM in reply to: teafoe5

Thanks for letting us know. I'm glad you were able to work it out!



Katie Langan
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.