Revit Structure

Revit Structure

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
DParkRMAK
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎12-17-2007
Message 1 of 3 (527 Views)
Accepted Solution

Show beam and joist extensions in structural framing plan views

527 Views, 2 Replies
09-06-2012 10:45 AM

 I want to be able to show roof joist extensions in my roof framing plan but I can't seem to get them to show. I added lines in my joist family constrained to the extensions and they just don't show. Others in this office have always just drawn in lines manually to show extensions. There must be a way.

This is the case with all out of the box beams and bar joists etc. What I did was I constrained the symbolic line to the top chord extrusion and converted the symbolic line to a model line and it showed up in my roof framing plan. I added  a parameter to adjust the length of the line to make it show the way I wanted and set visibility settings so it only shows in plan.

Normally the extensions do'nt need to show but in this case I had a 4' extension beyond the beams to slose the roof at the ridge and other extensions to catch SIP panels.

Product Support
Chris.Aquino
Posts: 398
Registered: ‎06-27-2010
Message 2 of 3 (489 Views)

Re: Show beam and joist extensions in structural framing plan views

09-17-2012 08:02 AM in reply to: DParkRMAK

To help troubleshoot this issue, would it possible to post one of the families your are working with?



Chris Aquino
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.


The Revit Clinic
@Revitclinic
Distinguished Contributor
DParkRMAK
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎12-17-2007
Message 3 of 3 (473 Views)

Re: Show beam and joist extensions in structural framing plan views

09-18-2012 06:15 PM in reply to: Chris.Aquino

This is the case with all out of the box beams and bar joists etc. What I did was I constrained the symbolic line to the top chord extrusion and converted the symbolic line to a model line and it showed up in my roof framing plan. I added  a parameter to adjust the length of the line to make it show the way I wanted and set visibility settings so it only shows in plan.

Normally the extensions do'nt need to show but in this case I had a 4' extension beyond the beams to slose the roof at the ridge and other extensions to catch SIP panels.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.