Revit Structure

Revit Structure

Reply
Valued Contributor
kevms
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎06-20-2006
Message 1 of 5 (300 Views)
Accepted Solution

RST 2012 and RST 2013 on same computer

300 Views, 4 Replies
08-25-2012 09:37 AM

Hello All

 

My employer has two different clients running two different versions of Revit, one in 2012 and one and 2013.

I have asked to have Revit structure 2013 to be installed on my computer.

 

My problem is that I am the only one in the office that works with the revit software, and I am have not recieved a response back. I am taking a proactive approach and doing some inquiring.

 

Here are a couple of questions:

1. Would there be a licensing issued of having both Revit Structure 2012 and Revit 2013 on the same computer?

2. If both versions are installed, does the the previous version need to be uninstalled?

 


Can someone help me out with this.

 

Kevin

 

 

Kevin
Using Revit Structure 2012, 2013, 2014
I think I am getting the hang of this revit stuff

Hi Kevin,

 

to answer your questions.......

1.  If both of the installs are legal and legitimately licences by your owner, then the answer is no......there would b eno problems with both.......

 

2.  No, Version 2012 DOES NOT need ot be uninstalled in order for 13 to work................I WOULD HOWEVER CAUTION YOU.........becareful in working with 2 versions at the same time on the same project...............once a project is promoted to 2013, you can not use it again in 2012.......it is not backwards compatible.

 

Mike

You will also have to request a serial number for the 2012 version. The following page has information on doing this:

 

How to request a license to use a previous release of Autodesk software
http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=GS17292981

Contributor
MikeMaloney
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎07-09-2012
Message 2 of 5 (286 Views)

Re: RST 2012 and RST 2013 on same computer

08-27-2012 04:40 AM in reply to: kevms

Hi Kevin,

 

to answer your questions.......

1.  If both of the installs are legal and legitimately licences by your owner, then the answer is no......there would b eno problems with both.......

 

2.  No, Version 2012 DOES NOT need ot be uninstalled in order for 13 to work................I WOULD HOWEVER CAUTION YOU.........becareful in working with 2 versions at the same time on the same project...............once a project is promoted to 2013, you can not use it again in 2012.......it is not backwards compatible.

 

Mike

Mike Maloney
BIM Design Automation Coordinator
CH2M Hill
Product Support
Chris.Aquino
Posts: 413
Registered: ‎06-27-2010
Message 3 of 5 (277 Views)

Re: RST 2012 and RST 2013 on same computer

08-27-2012 11:39 AM in reply to: kevms

You will also have to request a serial number for the 2012 version. The following page has information on doing this:

 

How to request a license to use a previous release of Autodesk software
http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=GS17292981



Chris Aquino
Knowledge Domain Expert
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.


The Revit Clinic
@Revitclinic
Valued Contributor
gguevarra
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Message 4 of 5 (264 Views)

Re: RST 2012 and RST 2013 on same computer

08-27-2012 01:11 PM in reply to: kevms

Chris, I have a question in regards to your reply... I've had multiple versions on  my computer before, but I've never had to "request a license to use a previous release." Could you clarify as to why this needs to be done? Thanks.

Valued Contributor
kevms
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎06-20-2006
Message 5 of 5 (248 Views)

Re: RST 2012 and RST 2013 on same computer

08-28-2012 07:15 PM in reply to: gguevarra

I have multiple versions of Autocad on my computer, I do not know if the procedure has changed but I have not ever had to request a new licence to use a previous release. the only way I can see that you need a new license if you are reinstalling it I don't know if I have that right.

Kevin
Using Revit Structure 2012, 2013, 2014
I think I am getting the hang of this revit stuff
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.